LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed

About SNAP-Ed

SNAP-Ed (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Education) uses evidence-based approaches to make healthy diet and lifestyle choices easier for SNAP recipients and other low-income audiences. LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed staff offer interactive lessons, community-based programs, and health-focused coalitions in nearly 40 parishes across the state. We teach our audience how to eat healthy, stay physically active, and manage food dollars. We also work with local communities to make healthy choices easier by improving places where people live, work, learn, pray, and play. This includes making nutritious food and physical activity easier to access by enhancing local farmers markets, parks and trails, food retailers, school and community gardens, food pantries, and pedestrian and bike infrastructure.

Learn more about LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed programs

Learn about eligibility requirements for SNAP benefits

SNAP-Ed's Audience

SNAP-Ed's audience includes SNAP recipients and other people with limited resources who qualify for SNAP. It also includes people who live in communities with a significant low-income population (50% or greater).

Find Your SNAP-Ed Agent or Educator

LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed agents and educators provide services in each region of the state. Find your SNAP-Ed agent or educator in the directory below!

Parish

Agent/Educator Name

Phone Number

Email

Allen

Cindy Upton (Agent)

Patricia Hobbs (Educator)

(318) 767-3968

(337) 639-4376

cupton@agcenter.lsu.edu

phobbs@agcenter.lsu.edu

Assumption

Maria Gonzales (Agent)

Wendy Naquin (Educator)

(985) 369-6386

(985) 369-6386

mgonzales@agcenter.lsu.edu

wnaquin@agcenter.lsu.edu

Beauregard Justine Ramsey (Agent) NA NA
Bienville Madison Horne (Agent) (318) 251-5134 mhorne@agcenter.lsu.edu

Bossier

Grace Peterson (Agent)

Erin Stockton (Agent)

(318) 741-7430

(318) 872-0533

gpeterson@agcenter.lsu.edu

estockton@agcenter.lsu.edu

Caddo

Grace Peterson (Agent)

(318) 741-7430

gpeterson@agcenter.lsu.edu

Caldwell

Quincy Vidrine (Agent)

Krissten Medlin (Educator)

(318) 435-2903

(318) 649-2663

qvidrine@agcenter.lsu.edu

kmedlin@agcenter.lsu.edu

Catahoula Ana Gouge (Agent) (318) 414-6055 aagouge@agcenter.lsu.edu

Claiborne

Shakera Williams (Agent)

LaDonna Chreene (Educator)

(318) 371-1371

(318) 371-1371

sswilliams@agcenter.lsu.edu

lchreene@agcenter.lsu.edu

Concordia Ana Gouge (Agent) (318) 414-6055 aagouge@agcenter.lsu.edu
Franklin Quincy Vidrine (Agent) (318) 435-2903 qvidrine@agcenter.lsu.edu

Grant

Madison Willis (Agent)

(318) 627-3675

mwillis@agcenter.lsu.edu

Iberia

Mandy Armentor (Agent)

DustiJo Verret (Educator)

(337) 898-4335

(337) 369-4441

marmentor@agcenter.lsu.edu

dverret@agcenter.lsu.edu

Iberville

Claire Barbier (Agent)

(225) 336-2416

cbarbier@agcenter.lsu.edu

Jackson

Shannan Chevallier (Agent)

(318) 628-4528

schevallier@agcenter.lsu.edu

Jefferson Shawn Verbeten (Agent) (504) 736-6519 sverbeten@agcenter.lsu.edu

Lafourche

Kristy Monier (Agent)

(985) 446-1316

kmonier@agcenter.lsu.edu

LaSalle

Madison Willis (Agent)

(318) 627-3675

mwillis@agcenter.lsu.edu

Lincoln Madison Horne (Agent) (318) 251-5134 mhorne@agcenter.lsu.edu

Natchitoches

Erin Stockton (Agent)

(318) 872-0533

estockton@agcenter.lsu.edu

Orleans

Emelia Clement (Agent)

(504) 503-1108

eclement@agcenter.lsu.edu

Ouachita

Cathy Agan (Agent)

Tara Garlington (Educator)

(318) 323-2251

(318) 323-2251

cagan@agcenter.lsu.edu

tgarlington@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rapides

Cindy Upton (Agent)

Jennifer Duhon (Agent)

(318) 767-3968

(318) 473-6520

cupton@agcenter.lsu.edu

jduhon@agcenter.lsu.edu

Red River Jessica Salley (Agent) (318) 256-3406 jnsalley@agcenter.lsu.edu

Sabine

Jessica Salley (Agent)

(318) 256-3406

jnsalley@agcenter.lsu.edu

St. Helena Vacant (Agent) NA NA

St. Martin

Debra Taghehchian (Agent)

Tassnique Prudhome (Educator)

(337) 332-2181

(337) 332-2181

dtaghehchian@agcenter.lsu.edu

tprudhome@agcenter.lsu.edu

St. Mary

Debra Taghehchian (Agent)

(337) 828-4100

dtaghehchian@agcenter.lsu.edu

Tangipahoa

Valerie Vincent (Agent)

Donna Landry (Educator)

(985) 875-2635

(985) 748-9381

vvincent@agcenter.lsu.edu

dlandry@agcenter.lsu.edu

Tensas

Vacant (Agent)

NA

NA

Terrebonne

Kristy Monier (Agent)

Evelyn Washington (Educator)

(985) 446-1316

(985) 873-6495

kmonier@agcenter.lsu.edu

ewashington@agcenter.lsu.edu

Vernon Justine Ramsey (Agent) NA NA

Vermilion

Mandy Armentor (Agent)

Kelbi Mills (Educator)

(337) 898-4335

(337) 898-4335

marmentor@agcenter.lsu.edu

kmills@agcenter.lsu.edu

Washington

Valerie Vincent (Agent)

Tammy Montgomery (Educator)

(985) 875-2635

(985) 839-7855

vvincent@agcenter.lsu.edu

tmontgomery@agcenter.lsu.edu

Webster

Shakera Williams (Agent)

LaDonna Chreene (Educator)

(318) 371-1371

(318) 371-1371

sswilliams@agcenter.lsu.edu

lchreene@agcenter.lsu.edu

West Baton Rouge

Claire Barbier (Agent)

(225) 336-2416

cbarbier@agcenter.lsu.edu

Winn

Shannan Chevallier (Agent)

(318) 628-4528

schevallier@agcenter.lsu.edu



SNAP-Ed's Impact 2023

The LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed program had far-reaching impacts across the state in 2023. Below are some highlights from the last year of SNAP-Ed educational programs and Healthy Communities efforts.

Infographic showing that LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed educational programs reached 8,733 nutrition lesson participants, 3 out of 4 participants reported eating healthier, which includes drinking less soda and eating more vegetables, 2 out of 3 participants reported being more active, and on average, adult participants reported eating twice as much fruit after lessons.

Infographic showing that LSU AgCenter SNAP-Ed agents established 994 partnerships and 170 healthy communities coalitions, made 74 policy, systems and environmental changes, received $24,382 in outside funding, and used 911 volunteer hours valued at $23,166. They also established 14 vegetable gardens, enhanced 19 food pantries, completed 11 painted stencil projects, and improved 11 parks and trails.

Questions?

Still have questions about SNAP-Ed? Click here to find contact information for Louisiana's SNAP-Ed implementing agencies and success stories from Louisiana.


This material was funded by USDA’s Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program – SNAP. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) provides nutrition assistance to people with low income. It can help you buy nutritious foods for a better diet. This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture

Top