Faculty and Staff Recognitions

12 photos of faculty and staff arranged in 2 rows of 6.

1.Arthur Villordon, a researcher at the LSU AgCenter Sweet Potato Research Station, received the National Sweet Potato Impact Award for his accomplishments and contributions to the sweet potato industry.

2.Tristan Watson, who is an LSU AgCenter nematologist, and other members of the Soybean Cyst Nematode Coalition earned the Silver Anvil Award in Issues Management from the Public Relations Society of America for their development of a national campaign to educate soybean farmers about nematode issues.

3.Witoon Prinyawiwatkul, the Horace J. Davis Endowed Professor in the School of Nutrition and Food Sciences, received an honorary doctorate in agro-industrial product development from Chiang Mai University in Chiang Mai, Thailand. In 25 years of visits to Thailand, he has shared his knowledge by teaching more than 120 short courses and workshops, consulting with food science programs and advising students.

4. Raghav Goyal has been selected to receive the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association’s prestigious Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Honorable Mention for his Ph.D. dissertation titled “Analyzing the Impact of Recent Developments in Agricultural Commodity Markets and Using Machine Learning Tools to Improve Forecasting Techniques.”

5. Elizabeth Martin, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program supervisor and assistant agent covering Bossier and Caddo parishes, was recently named the Louisiana Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Outstanding Dietitian of the Year. The Louisiana Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Association is a professional organization representing more than 1,000 dietetic nutrition experts in the state and is an affiliate of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

6. Lindsey Kelly, former director of alumni relations for the LSU College of Agriculture, received the Ag Student Association’s Advisor of the Year at the college’s alumni crawfish boil.

7. James Hendrix, conservation agronomist for the LSU AgCenter Northeast Region, has been named the Conservation Systems Soybean and Corn Researcher of the Year for 2023. Hendrix received the award during the 2023 National Conservation Systems Cotton and Rice Conference.

8. Dr. Christine Navarre, the extension veterinarian for the LSU AgCenter, was named veterinarian of the year at the annual meeting of the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association.

9. Kristin Stair has been appointed to a three-year term on the National FFA Board of Directors representing the American Association for Agricultural Education.

10. Mandy Armentor, FCS-SW Regional Coordinator, was awarded the Dr. Janet F. Pope Outstanding Nutrition and Dietetics Alumni Award from Louisiana Tech University’s School of Human Ecology.

11. Giovanna Aita and 12. Young Hwan Moon, of the Audubon Sugar Institute, won two international awards at the Congress of the International Society of Sugar Cane Technologists (ISSCT) in Hyderabad, India. They won the John Clayton Award for Best Poster for the Factory Commission of ISSCT and the August John Vitos Award for Best Poster for the Co-Products Commission of ISSCT.

12/1/2023 8:58:20 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture