Dairy Day produces winners

Johnny Morgan  |  7/3/2018 3:28:07 PM

(07/03/18) FRANKLINTON, La. — The fourth annual Florida Parishes Dairy Day brought out the spirit of winning in youth showing off their culinary skills and farmers with high-yielding milk cows.

Starting early in the morning, the young people were judging dairy cows at the LSU AgCenter Southeast Research Station.

“Dairy Day is the one day out of the year that the local agribusinesses, suppliers and veterinarians the dairy farmers deal with come together to show their appreciation,” said station director Charlie Hutchison.

Before Dairy Day moved to the research station, it rotated among various farms in three parishes with dairy production: St. Helena, Tangipahoa and Washington.

“The dairy industry continues to decline in the state, with 89 active currently,” Hutchison said. “There were close to 400 dairies in the state just 10 years ago.”

Winners at this year’s event are as follows:

Dairy cookery winners by division:

Appetizer — Emalee McCain, Roseland Elementary School

Salad — Chelsey Kent, Sumner High School

Dessert — Gabrielle Pfisterer, Ponchatoula High School

Main dish — Blake Valenti, Loranger Junior High School

Dairy poster winners:

Fourth-grade division — McKenzie Gerard, Loranger Elementary School

Elementary division — Makayla Husser, Loranger Middle School

Junior high division — Claire O’Neill, Tangi Youth Group

Senior high division — Jordan Mazzeno, Ponchatoula High School

Makayla Husser, of Tangipahoa Parish, won first place in Division I state poster contest, and Karina Alfaro, of Washington Parish, won first-place in Division III of the state poster competition.

In the youth dairy judging competition, Danielle Thompson, of Tangipahoa Parish, won first place; Sydney Jarrell, of Washington Parish, won second place; and Kaylin Cutrer, of Washington Parish, won third place.

In the adult division, Yun Thompson, of Tangipahoa Parish, won first place; Chelsey Johnson, of Washington Parish, won second place; and Delos Thompson, of Tangipahoa Parish, won third place.

An award that equates to bragging rights for producers is the quality milk award. This year the winners were Circle G Farms Inc., Mack Brown Farms and Brock Dairy.

JWM_7063.JPG thumbnail

Quality Milk Award winners at the 2018 Dairy Day held at the LSU AgCenter Southeast Research Station are, from left, Phillip Roberts, Dusty Schilling, Travis Henry, Daryl Robertson and Todd Covington, who presented the awards. Photo by Johnny Morgan/ LSU AgCenter

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture