2012 St. Helena 4-H Cookery Contest

Angela Myles  |  12/10/2012 10:10:35 PM

L-R Ms. Kim Holiday, 4-H Leader, Shiniqua Rogers, Lance Gilmore, Jamya Watson, Marvionaa East, Jaquelon Floyd and Ms. Carla Lowe, 4-H Leader

Toni Melton, Youth Coordinator, Corey Leblanc, Lanaedra Moore, Katlin Adair, Ashanna Lee, Major Coleman, Police Juror, Jency Riley, Dyreon Tillis and Robert Reese

Cloverbuds: Jamiracle Scott, Frankeisha Dyson, Ydaejah Lewis and Major Coleman, Police Juror

The St. Helena Parish 4-H Cookery Contest was held December 6th at St. Helena Central Elementary School and St. Helena Central Middle School.  This contest teaches life skills to 4-H'ers participating in the categories of Beef, Egg, Poultry and Seafood.  They learn the art of cooking as well as knowing their way around the kitchen. It provides them with the ability to research various types of recipes and learn how to follow a recipe, acquire knowledge and skill in measuring ingredients and using cooking principles.  they also learned the nutritional value of foods and using creative ways to display their finished product.

Dishes are scored on appearance, taste and recipe. Winners of the parish contest will continue on the the Area Commodity Cookery Contest to be held in Hammond, La. in 2013.

St. Helena Central Elementary School winners:
Cloverbuds (Pre-K to 4th grade)
Jamiracle Scott - 1st place

Ydaejah Lewis - 1st place

Frankeisha Dyson - 1st place

SHCE - 4th Grade
Dyreon Tillis - 1st place

Corey Leblanc - 1st place

Katlin Adair - 1st place
Robert Reese - 2nd place
Lanaedra Moore - 3rd place

Jency Riley - 1st place
Dyreon Tillis - 1st place
Ashanna Lee

St. Helena Central Middle School winners:
Jamya Watson - 1st place
Jaquelon Floyd - 2nd

Shaniqua Rogers - 1st
Jamya Watson - 2nd
Marvionaa East - 3rd place

Shiniqua Rogers 1st place Seafood & Poultry
Jamya Watson - 2nd place
Lance Gilmore - 3rd place
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture