Louisiana Master Farmer Program (MFP) Update

The 64th annual meeting of the Louisiana Association of Conservation Districts in Baton Rouge on January 14, 2010, was the ideal venue to recognize the 23 Louisiana farmers who recently attained the status of Certified Master Farmer. This status means they have implemented conservation practices that protect all the natural resources at an accepted standard in a Resource Management System, developed by NRCS, along with completing the Phase I and II requirements for certification of the Louisiana MFP.

The list of new certified master farmers and the parish where they farm follows:

Russell Barfield, Dubach, Union Parish

Damian Bollich, Jones, Morehouse Parish

Kimberly Chapin, Winnsboro, Franklin Parish

W. Frank Chapman, DeRidder, Beauregard Parish

Ed Crawford, Winnfield, Winn Parish

Rubin Dauzat, Marksville, Avoyelles Parish

Walter Davis, Natchez. Miss., Concordia Parish

Conery Durand, St Martinville. St Martin Parish

Vendal Fairchild, Oak Grove, West Carroll Parish

Charles Fontenot, Lake Charles, Calcasieu Parish

Marty Frey, Morganza, Pointe Coupee Parish

Randy Gregory, Oak Grove, West Carroll Parish

Jon Hardwick, Newellton, Tensas Parish

Ronald Hebert, Jeanerette, Iberia Parish

Sam Hill, Tallulah, Madison Parish

Wesley Jones, Pt. Coupee Parish

Cullen Kovac, Oak Grove, West Carroll Parish

James E. Moreland Jr., Homer, Claiborne Parish

J.A. Rummler, Pt. Coupee Parish

Jens Rummler, Pt. Coupee Parish

Donavon Taves, Lake Providence, East Carroll Parish

Angie Tyler, Dubach, Lincoln Parish

Scott Tyler, Dubach, Lincoln Parish

The Louisiana Master Farmer Program (Louisiana's conservation partnership) includes the LSU AgCenter, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, Louisiana Cattlemen’s Association, and the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry.
2/5/2010 10:31:57 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture