12 new 4-H Hall of Fame members feted at ceremony

Linda Benedict, Schultz, Bruce

A dozen new members of the Louisiana 4-H Hall of Fame were recognized at a ceremony Aug. 11 at the Louisiana 4-H Museum in Mansura for their years of service to 4-H clubs across the state.

“It’s an honor being honored for what you were supposed to be doing,” Jack Dillard of Caddo Parish told the crowd of more than 150 people. “What are we living for besides kids?”

Another inductee, David Saucier, of Bienville Parish, said his work in 4-H has been a fulfilling experience.

“It became an extension of the family,” Saucier said. “4-H members enrich you.”

So far, 124 people have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Their photographs and biographical sketches are part of a Hall of Fame exhibit at the museum. Hall of Fame inductees were: Dr. Katherine Beier, of Ascension Parish; Sharon Chatagnier, of Terrebonne Parish; Anne Chauvin, of Lafayette Parish; Jack Dillard, of Caddo Parish; Stanley J. Lamendola, of East Baton Rouge Parish; Alice LeJeune, of Rapides Parish; Denver T. Loupe, of East Baton Rouge Parish; Johnny L. May, of DeSoto Parish; Mamie McMillion, of St. Charles Parish; David Saucier, of Bienville Parish; Albert H. Steinbach (deceased), of East Baton Rouge Parish; and Otis J. Stelly Sr. (deceased), of Vermilion Parish.

Bruce Schultz

(This article was published in the summer 2010 issue of Louisiana Agriculture.)

9/21/2010 11:26:57 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture