DNA safety committee members honored

Linda F. Benedict, Bogren, Richard C.

Members of LSU’s Interinstitutional Biological and Recombinant DNA Safety Committee were honored at an awards recognition luncheon April 28 in Baton Rouge.

The committee is charged with protecting faculty, staff, students and visitors from the potential risk of accidental exposure to biologically hazardous materials and it assures compliance with federal regulations and guidelines issued by the Department of Health and Human Services’ Centers for Disease Control, the National Institutes of Health, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.

"This committee provides an important function in the LSU AgCenter and for LSU," said Fred Enright, head of the Department of Veterinary Science. "It assures the scientific community and the general public that DNA is handled safely and securely.

" The committee oversees and establishes university policy for the review and approval of all research projects, teaching laboratories, extension activities, diagnostic testing and any other activities involving the use of recombinant DNA as well as the use of human, animal or plant pathogens.
Committee members from the LSU AgCenter recognized for service include Kenneth Bondioli, School of Animal Sciences; Collins Kimbeng, School of Plant, Environmental & Soil Sciences; Claudia Husseneder, Department of Entomology; and Rodrigo Valverde, Department of Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology.

"I’m thankful for the AgCenter people who serve on this committee," said David Boethel, vice chancellor for research and one of the institutional officials responsible for the committee. "Their contributions go a long way to making our research safe and responsive to the general welfare."

Rick Bogren

(This article was published in the spring 2010 issue of Louisiana Agriculture.)

6/28/2010 9:15:13 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture