Top LSU AgCenter awards for 2008 go to 20 faculty, staff

Twenty faculty and staff received the top awards for 2008 at the LSU AgCenter Annual Conference Dec. 15-16 in Baton Rouge.

Kayanush Aryana, associate professor in the School of Animal Sciences, received the Rogers Excellence in Research Award for his research with functional foods. His studies involve developing dairy products with nutrition and health enhancements that would benefit consumers.

Chris Clark, professor in the Department of Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology, received the Doyle Chambers Research Award for his research with sweet potatoes. Clark’s development of virus-tested sweet potato foundation seed, has helped keep the Louisiana sweet potato industry alive and thriving. His research on sweet potato diseases plays an integral role in developing sweet potato varieties that make up the bulk of the sweet potatoes grown in the United States.

Stuart Gauthier, county agent in Vermilion Parish, received the Floyd S. Edmiston Extension Award for his outstanding contributions to agriculture following hurricanes Rita in 2005 and Ike in 2008.

Don Reed, a wildlife and forestry specialist, who conducts research at the Bob R. Jones Idlewild Research Station near Clinton, received the Excellence in Extension Award. Reed was recognized for working with landowners in improving their property for wildlife enhancement.

Three extension agents received the Denver T. and Ferne Loupe Extension Team Award for their community garden program in Shreveport, which offers citizens an opportunity to consume fresh vegetables, learn about nutrition and take pride in the improved looks of their neighborhoods. The team includes Vicky Chesser and Grace Peterson, family and nutrition program agents, and Denyse Cummins, horticulture agent.

Eleven scientists involved with research on resistant starch won the Tipton Team Research Award. Resistant starch has the potential to reduce body fat, improve glucose tolerance and prevent cancer. The team includes Kayanush Aryana, associate professor, School of Animal Sciences; Chang-Ho Chung, assistant professor, and Donal Day, professor, Audubon Sugar Institute; Marlene Janes, Joan King and Jack Losso, all associate professors, Department of Food Science; Mike Keenan, associate professor, Kathy McCutcheon, research associate, and Richard Tulley, professor, School of Human Ecology; and Don LaBonte and David Picha, both professors, School of Plant, Environmental & Soil Sciences.

The Ganelle Bullock Staff Outstanding Service Award went to Mary Hollingsworth, an administrative coordinator in the Rapides Parish extension office.

The Outstanding Service Award for Associates went to Clark Robertson, research associate in the Department of Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology.

(This article appeared in the winter 2009 issue of Louisiana Agriculture.)

3/3/2009 8:44:31 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture