LSU AgCenter Tags Eight for Patent, PVP Club in 2005

Eight more LSU AgCenter scientists became members of the “Patent & PVP Club” in 2005. They joined the 35 who have already received patents or have been awarded plant variety protection (PVP) certificates for their inventions.

Inductees included seven members of the sweet potato research team, who have developed new sweet potato varieties. They are James “Mike” Cannon, extension sweet potato specialist and director of the Sweet Potato Research Station in Chase, who has since retired; Christopher Clark, professor in the Department of Plant Pathology and Crop Physiology; Abner Hammond, professor in the Department of Entomology, who does research on the insects that pester sweet potato production; Don La Bonte, professor in the Department of Horticulture; Richard Story, also an entomology professor and researcher; Arthur Villordon, assistant professor at the Sweet Potato Station; and Paul Wilson, also a researcher and professor in horticulture.

The eighth new member is Steve Linscombe, director of the Southwest Region and a rice breeder. He develops new rice varieties to help increase the rice production in Louisiana. LSU AgCenterpatented rice varieties also are grown throughout the southeastern rice-growing states.

“The fact that we have so many of our scientists whose work leads to patents and plant variety protection certificates shows how talented and prolific they are,” said David J. Boethel, LSU AgCenter vice chancellor for research. “These inventions and discoveries lead to technology transfer, licensing and marketing of new products, which ultimately contribute to the economic growth and development of our state.”

The LSU AgCenter’s Patent & PVP Club was started in 2002 to provide recognition and call attention to research and discovery. Other members include, alphabetically, Gerard Berggren, Gary Brietenbeck, Blair Buckley, John Chandler, Richard Cooper, Richard Corstvet, Tim Croughan, Donal Day, Philip Elzer, Fred Enright, James Farr, Lane Foil, Donald Groth, William Hansel, Stephen Harrison, Bobby Harville, Gregg Henderson, Jack Jones, Willem Kampen, Kenneth Koonce, Roger Laine, Kenneth McMillin, Rick Mascagni, Steven Moore, James Oard, James Ottea, Timothy Page, Samuel Rollason, Dearl Sanders, Michael Saska, Daniel Satterlee, Lee Southern, Ronald Thune, William Todd and Lakshman Velupillai.

(This article appeared in the fall 2005 issue of Louisiana Agriculture.)
1/5/2006 4:00:49 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture