LSU AgCenter Honors Outstanding Faculty Members

The 15-member team sweet potato team includes left to right, back row: Chris Robichaux, Chris Clark, David Picha and Abner Hammond; middle row: Paul Wilson, Don LaBonte, Rick Story, Arthur Villordon, Earnest Freeman and Steve Kelly; front row: Myrl Sistrunk, Rodrigo Valverde, Gene Burris and Mike Cannon. Not pictured is Gerald Roberts. (Photo by John Woznaik)

The LSU AgCenter honored four individuals and a team of research and extension faculty members during its 2002 annual conference in December.

The honorees for the LSU AgCenter’s top awards were Joan McCrory, who received the Triad Nitrogen Award for Extension; Dan Satterlee, the Triad Nitrogen Research Award; Lee Southern, the Doyle Chambers Research Award; Ed Twidwell, the Floyd S. Edmiston Award; and a group known as the Sweet Potato Research and Extension Team, the Tipton Team Research Award.

McCrory, whose lifelong commitment to 4-H began when she was a 9-year-old student in Acadia Parish, is on the state 4-H staff in Baton Rouge and has a 33-year record of professional service to 4-H.

Satterlee was singled out for his research in the area of poultry production. He has developed a vaccine that helps broiler chickens lay more eggs – an accomplishment that should boost the industry and promote AgCenter research. Satterlee also is looking at a technique to determine which animals can handle stress better. In addition to balancing his research with teaching responsibilities, he has secured more than $1 million to further poultry research.

Southern, whose most significant accomplishment is in the area of animal nutrition, works with the nutrition of pigs. His research group was the first to show the benefits of organic chromium in the diet of pigs. Southern has published more than 100 papers in refereed journals, has written three book chapters and is co-editor of the second edition of a swine nutrition textbook. He also works closely with graduate students.

Twidwell’s responsibilities include working with 4-H’ers, teaching a forage class and working with extension and research plots devoted to ryegrass performance trials. Twidwell is active in both the Louisiana Forage and Grassland Council and the American Forage and Grassland Council, and he is in line to become president of the national group.

The Sweet Potato Research and Extension Team combines the best qualities of the AgCenter’s research and extension branches, says Mike Cannon, coordinator of the Sweet Potato Research Station and leader of the team. The team works directly with growers to promote the industry and to develop new varieties. Its most significant accomplishment thus far has been the development of the Beauregard sweet potato variety, which revitalized the industry in Louisiana and has proven to be one of the most popular varieties ever.

6/14/2005 6:16:17 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture