State 4-H staff wins big at national conference

Johnny Morgan, Tassin, Mark G., Miller, Ruby, Myers, Kori, Arnould, Angela R.

News Release Distributed 11/04/11

LSU AgCenter employees from across the state brought home awards from the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents conference held Oct. 24-27 in Omaha, Neb.

Winners from Louisiana were presented awards in three categories: awards, specialty awards and communicator awards.

Louisiana was well represented this year at the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents Conference, said Mark Tassin, state 4-H program leader. “Our LSU AgCenter professionals actively presented seminars, served our association in leadership roles and received several regional and national awards.”

In addition to winning awards, several were selected to represent the organization.

Kori Myers was selected to serve as Southern Regional Director on the national board for NAE4-HA. “The National Association of Extension 4-H Agents conference was an excellent professional development conference that educated attendees on multiple youth development topics,” said Myers, who also served as past-president of the Louisiana Association of Extension 4-H Agents.

Angie Arnould, LAE4-HA president, thanked Hilton Waits for doing an excellent job as a Southern Regional Director. “The Southern Region has three regional directors, and we’re proud to have had one of the three for the past two years, as well as the upcoming two years.”

Attending the NAE4-HA Conference provided a special opportunity to experience delight, surprise and success while networking with youth development agents from all over the United States, said Ruby Miller, president-elect for the Louisiana Association of Extension 4-H Agents.

“Listening to guest speakers and attending workshops encouraged me to sharpen the focus of my work and gave me a renewed confidence in my ability to make a difference in the community and youth I serve,” Miller said.

Achievement award winners were: Margo Castro, Silas Cecil and Adriana Drusini. Distinguished Service Awards went to Amy Long-Pierre, Elizabeth Lynn and Todd Tarifa. The Meritorious Service Award went to Lanette Hebert.

Winners of the Jim Duncan Program of Distinction Award included the State Youth 4-H Leadership Boards, with advisors Janet Fox, Laura Brumbaugh, David Boldt, Kayla Haydel, Lanette Hebert, Denise Holston, Katina Hester, Karen Martin, Ruby Miller, Ashley Mullens, Kimberly Jones, Mindy Kile, Todd Tarifa, Jeannie Crnkovic and Tanya Giroir.

The individual winner of the Regional Excellence Natural Resources/Environmental Education Award was Ashley Mullens.

There were three categories of communicator awards. Winners of the Regional Exhibit Award are: Renee Castro, Katina Hester, Elma Sue McCallum and Rose Anne St. Romain. Winners of the Regional Interactive Website Award were: Katina Hester, Leslie Moran and Todd Tarifa. The winners of the National Video Program award were Ashley Mullins, Craig Gautreaux, Randy LaBauve and Hilary Collis.

Johnny Morgan

11/4/2011 6:54:17 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture