Extension association presents awards, installs officers

Mary Ann Van Osdell, Robinson, Cathryn B.

News Release Distributed 05/16/11

RUSTON, La. – The Louisiana Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences presented awards and installed officers at its annual convention May 4.

Award recipients were:

Human Ecology awards for outstanding work --Terry Foster, family and child development, Bossier Parish; Diane Uzzle, family resource management, Bienville Parish; and Sharman Charles, nutrition and health, East Baton Rouge Parish.

Betty Jane Fairchild Award – Robin Landry, Assumption Parish.

Epsilon Sigma Phi Early Career Award and a scholarship for further education or professional conferences – Robin Landry, Assumption Parish.

Maxine Reeves Award – Ginger Boutwell, Franklin Parish, to recognize professional development.

Continued Excellence Awards – Ginger Boutwell, Franklin Parish, and Monica Olinde, Pointe Coupee Parish.

Extension Educator of the Year – Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish.

Florence Hall Award -- Beth Reames, LSU AgCenter, Baton Rouge; Kay Singleton; Debbie Melvin, Lafourche Parish; Joan Almond, Webster Parish; Terri Crawford Northeast Region, Winnsboro, La., and Penny Thibodeaux, Jefferson Davis Parish, first place; Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish, second place.

The Florence Hall Award is given to an individual or team for an outstanding program conducted by members who have been alert in recognizing new concerns and interests of families and have involved people in planning and implementing the programs.

Public Relations – team award – Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish and Valerie Vincent, St. Tammany Parish.

Educational Publication – Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish.

Written Press Release – first, Debbie Melvin, Lafourche Parish; second, Danna Gillett, Richland Parish; third, Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish. Zeringue also won first in newsletter and television.

Communications Educational Technology Award – Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish.

Marketing Package Award went to the team of Terry Foster, Bossier Parish; Joan Almond, Webster Parish; Dianne Glasgow, Caddo Parish; Connie Aclin, Caddo Parish; Gwen Fontenot, Natchitoches Parish; Vicky Chesser, and Grace Peterson, Northwest Region, Bossier City, La.; Cathy Judd, Lincoln Parish; Diane Uzzle, Bienville Parish; Cindy Smith, Red River Parish, and Cathryn B. Robinson, Caddo/Bossier parishes, for the Living Well Expo in Bossier City.

ACI Clean Home Safe and Healthy Families Award – Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish.

Officers elected are:

President, Deborah Cross-Young, Iberville Parish; vice president of awards and recognition, Deniese Zeringue, St. Charles Parish; vice president of member resources, Monica Olinde, Pointe Coupee Parish; vice president of public affairs, Carolyn Robinson, West Carroll Parish; vice president of professional development, Terry Foster, Bossier Parish; secretary, Diane Uzzle, Bienville Parish; treasurer, Gloria Nye, St. Landry Parish; northern regional director, Cathy Agan, Ouachita Parish; alternate northern regional director, Dianne Glasgow, Caddo Parish; southeastern regional director, Robin Landry, Assumption Parish; alternate southeastern regional director, Layne Langley, West Baton Rouge Parish; southwestern regional director, Penny Thibodaux, Jefferson Davis Parish; alternate southwestern regional director, Shatonia Chatman, Calcasieu Parish; parliamentarian, Terri Crawford, northeast region, Winnsboro; and past president, Danna Gillett, Richland Parish.

Mary Ann Van Osdell

5/17/2011 12:29:16 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture