2009 scholarships presented to 4-H’ers from across Louisiana

Eric Eskew, Merrill, Thomas A.  |  6/25/2009 11:24:33 PM

State 4-H scholarship winners pose for a group photo following the annual 4-H University Awards Banquet. The event honored donors, alumni, volunteers, staff and faculty along with outstanding 4-H’ers across the state. (Click to download. Photo by Mark Claesgens.)

Photo By: Mark Claesgens

News Release Distributed 06/25/09

BATON ROUGE – Winners of 2009 4-H scholarships were among those honored during ceremonies at the LSU AgCenter’s 4-H University June 23-25 in Baton Rouge.

The young adults from across Louisiana were honored at an awards banquet Tuesday (June 23) and at an assembly Wednesday (June 24) on the LSU campus. Some of them also had been recognized earlier at high-school graduation ceremonies throughout the state.

They were credited with excelling in project work and record keeping, serving as club officers or otherwise distinguishing themselves during their years in 4-H.

4-H University, known as 4-H U, for short, is an LSU AgCenter event that brings young people from across Louisiana to Baton Rouge for educational events, contests and other activities. The scholarship presentations were just part of the activities during the 95th annual event, which provides participants with opportunities to demonstrate their knowledge in 4-H project areas ranging from computer science to nutrition, as well as supplying a vast range of other educational opportunities and chances for fun.

“We salute this group of 2009 high school graduates who have excelled in 4-H project work, community service, leadership and academic work,” said Eric Eskew, executive director of the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. “Even more, we’re definitely happy that we can help them continue their education by providing these scholarships.”

Eskew and LSU AgCenter Vice Chancellor Paul Coreil said the 34 state scholarship recipients were picked from 160 entries in the Louisiana 4-H scholarship program and that they represent the “cream of the cream of the crop.”

“We’re pleased to honor these young people, but it’s good to know how many more 4-H’ers are out there who also have worked hard and deserve recognition. We extend our congratulations and best wishes to all of them, because they all are winners,” Coreil said.

Of the 34 state scholarships, some of the largest awards went to 20 4-H Club members who received named scholarships ranging from $200 to $1,100 through the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. Another 10 4-H’ers were awarded $300 scholarships to study on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge, and four others were recognized with American Legion, Beauregard Cattle Women, Bot Burch, S.E. Wood and Charles Fuselier scholarships – to round out the state scholarship winners.

In addition, 64 young people received $100 parish scholarships from the 4-H Foundation.

Winners of the named scholarships from the Louisiana 4-H Foundation, the parishes in which they participated in 4-H and their hometowns were:

Bruce Flint Scholarship ($1,100) – Claire Galley, Calcasieu Parish, DeQuincy.

Carl and Beulah Baldridge Scholarship ($1,100) – Emmy Mouton, Iberia, Youngsville.

Gloria Perkins Scholarship ($1,000) – Hannah Thibodeaux, St. Martin, Breaux Bridge.

C.J. Naquin Scholarship ($800) – Dustie Rambin, Red River, Coushatta.

Gerry Lane Enterprises Scholarship ($800) – Kristina Moore, Jefferson Davis, Roanoke.

Terril D. Faul Scholarship ($600) – Hudson Smith, Franklin, Gilbert.

Cliff Williams Scholarship ($550) – Chelsea Warren, Concordia, Vidalia.

McCrory Family Scholarship ($550) – Kristen Comeaux, St. Mary, Patterson.

Lod Cook Scholarship ($500) – Elizabeth Guinn, Jefferson Davis, Jennings.

Ruth Johnson Scholarship ($500) – Anna Loftin, Bossier, Elm Grove.

Louisiana Milk Producers Association ($500) – Cory Newcomb, Washington, Angie.

Jason McClaran Scholarship ($450) – Danny Pearce, Pointe Coupee, Maringouin.

Dr. and Mrs. Edward W. Gassie Scholarship ($450) – Geralyn Schexnayder, St. James, Vacherie.

A.P. and Beryl Parham Memorial Scholarship ($400) – Amber Landry, East Baton Rouge, Baton Rouge.

Lee Berwick Memorial Scholarship ($300) – Christina “Rae” Addison, Vernon, Leesville.

Mark H. Bonner Scholarship ($300) – Linda Nguyen, St. Martin, Breaux Bridge.

Joseph and Malvina Lamendola Scholarship ($200) – Chrystal Lachney, West Feliciana, St. Francisville.

H.C. Sanders Scholarship ($200) – Rebecca Cavin, Concordia, Monterey.

Daniel Fontenot Jr. Scholarship ($200) – Jessica Taylor, Caddo, Shreveport.

Among the other state 4-H scholarships and awards were 10 $300 LSU Baton Rouge Scholarships that went to Kristina Moore of Jefferson Davis Parish; Kristen Comeaux, St. Mary; Geralyn Schexnayder, St. James; Cody Quebedeaux, Lafourche; Hannah Thibodeaux, St. Martin; Lindsey Arceneaux, St. James; Laura Wolff, East Baton Rouge; Caroline Watkins, Jefferson Davis; Aaron Lee, Vermilion; and Danny Pearce, Pointe Coupee.

Finishing the scholarships were the $500 American Legion Scholarship, which went to Heather Fontenot of Rapides Parish (Pineville); the $300 Beauregard Cattle Women Association Scholarship to Jessie Bowles of Allen Parish (Oberlin); the $300 S.E. Wood Scholarship to Lindsey Arceneaux of St. James; the $250 Charles Fuselier Scholarshp to Javonnah Williams of St. Martin; and the $250 E.H. “Bot” Burch Memorial Scholarship to Chasity Sharp of Washington Parish.

In addition to the statewide scholarships, Louisiana 4-H Foundation Parish Scholarships of $100 each went to Elizabeth Coolman of Acadia Parish; Lydia Earl, Allen; Sydney Schexnayder, Ascension; KayLynn Rivere, Assumption; Averie Durand, Avoyelles; Kaitlyn Bertrand, Beauregard; Joshua Johnson, Bienville; Anna Loftin, Bossier; Jessica Brumley, Caddo; Klancy Shope, Calcasieu; Korey Burns, Caldwell; Cody Jouett, Cameron; Casey Cater, Catahoula; Cameron Hylan, Claiborne; Guylan Paige Britt, Concordia; Benjamin Fulton, DeSoto; Ashley Aghayan, East Baton Rouge; Fred Reed, East Carroll; Jasmine Hughes, East Feliciana; Mallory Daire, Evangeline; Hudson Smith, Franklin; Cassidy Dubois, Grant; Jessica Belden, Iberia; Brittnay Persick, Iberville; Johnathon Futrell, Jackson; Caroline Watkins, Jeff Davis; Daniel Melancon, Jefferson; Jeanne Deville, Lafayette; Cody Quebedeaux, Lafourche; Brook Tassin, LaSalle; Javonta Douglas, Lincoln; DeLauren Crochet, Livingston; Brittny Sims, Madison; Zachary Moore, Morehouse; Abigail Hennigan, Nachitoches; Ashton Pruitt, Orleans; Sabré Masters, Ouachita; Robert Willie, Plaquemines; Emily Allen, Pointe Coupee; Heather Fontenot, Rapides; Dustie Rambin, Red River; Kristina Chapman, Richland; David Free, Sabine; Patrice Loar, St. Bernard; Benjamin Alday, St. Charles; Clay Overton, St. Helena; Lindsey Arceneaux, St. James; Melissa Berthelot, St. John; Dillan Helton, St. Landry; Linda Nguyen, St. Martin; Kristen Comeaux, St. Mary; Jessica Jenkins, St. Tammany; Clint Galiano, Tangipahoa; Mary Crigler, Tensas; Bradley Stewart, Terrebonne; Derek Warden, Union; Aaron Lee, Vermilion; Austin Granger, Vernon; Kirstie St. Germain, Washington; Beau Cook, Webster; Ryan Trusclair, West Baton Rouge; David Patton, West Carroll; Samantha Bickham, West Feliciana; and Victoria Adams, Winn.


Contact: Eric Eskew
Writer: Tom Merrill

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture