LSU AgCenter recognizes award winners

Richard Bogren, Gould, Frances I.

News Release Distributed 12/14/09

BATON ROUGE – The LSU AgCenter recognized six individuals, three teams of faculty members and two staff members for outstanding service and exemplary performance of their duties during ceremonies here Monday (Dec. 14).

In addition, Scott Angelle, secretary of the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources, was presented the Epsilon Sigma Phi Friend of Extension Award.

The top individual awards for LSU AgCenter extension faculty members went to LSU AgCenter entomologist Dr. Dale Pollet and 4-H regional coordinator Lanette Hebert. Top individual award winners for research faculty went to AgCenter Paul K. Adams Professor of Urban Entomology Dr. Gregg Henderson and wood scientist Dr. Qinglin Wu.

Recipients of the LSU AgCenter team awards were a group of scientists involved in researching and managing Asian soybean rust in Louisiana and a group of AgCenter agents and specialists who developed and manage the Louisiana Rice Research Verification Program.

Winners of the awards presented in the Lod Cook Alumni Center on the LSU campus were:

– Extension Excellence Award

Lanette Hebert, a 4-H regional coordinator for southwestern Louisiana. Hebert was recognized for her passion for youth development, strong sense of leadership and dedication to extension work.

– Floyd S. Edmiston Extension Award

Dr. Dale Pollet, an LSU AgCenter extension entomologist. Pollet was recognized for his work helping homeowners, gardeners, beekeepers and farmers in Louisiana through classes, newsletters and face-to-face assistance.

– Rogers Research Excellence Award

Dr. Qinglin Wu, a researcher in the LSU AgCenter’s School of Renewable Natural Resources. Wu develops wood composite materials that add value to low-quality, small-diamter trees and bring additional income to Louisiana timber growers. He also holds several patents, including one for a process to recycle used plastic oil containers.

– Doyle Chambers Research Award

Dr. Gregg Henderson, an urban entomologist, began battling Formosan subterranean termites nearly 20 years ago. He focuses on understanding termites and developing tools that reduce the amount of toxic chemicals used to control these pests. He holds a number of patents, including bait designs and termite monitoring systems.

– Extension Team Award

This team was responsible for developing the Louisiana rice research verification program, which started in 1998. The program takes rice research and applies it to real-world situations.

The team was made up of LSU AgCenter agents in rice-growing parishes and weed, disease and insect specialists. AgCenter field agents on the team are Trent Clark in Avoyelles Parish, Keith Collins in Richland Parish, Howard Cormier in Vermilion Parish, Barrett Courville in Acadia Parish, Glen Daniels in Concordia Parish, Eddie Eskew in Jefferson Davis Parish, Keith Fontenot in Evangeline Parish, R.L. Frazier in Madison Parish, Stuart Gauthier in Vermilion Parish, Donna Lee in East Carroll Parish, Keith Normand in St. Landry Parish, Myrl Sistrunk in West Carroll Parish, Dr. Carlos Smith in Avoyelles Parish and Jerry Whatley in Calcasieu Parish.

Other faculty members recognized by the award are state rice specialist Dr. Johnny Saichuk, plant pathologists Dr. Don Groth and Dr. Clayton Hollier, entomologist Dr. Natalie Hummel, agronomist Dr. Ron Levy and weed scientist Dr. Eric Webster. The team also included extension associate Kim Landry.

The team has helped dozens of farmers grow rice more efficiently while exposing them to the latest innovations in rice production technology.

– Tipton Team Research Award

The winner of this award was the LSU AgCenter’s team of plant pathologists and plant breeders who worked together to create the Asian soybean rust action team. The team includes plant pathologists Dr. Ray Schneider, Dr. Zhi-Yuan Chen, Dr. Pat Colyer, Dr. Clayton Hollier and Dr. Boyd Padgett and plant breeder Dr. Blair Buckley. It has been instrumental in assessing fungicides and times of application and turning what could potentially be a devastating plant disease into one easily managed by growers. Researchers and soybean farmers across the country have benefitted from the team’s efforts.

– 4-H Youth Development Faculty Award

Shannan Waits and Hilton Waits are 4-H agents in Vermilion Parish. They were recognized for helping organize citizenship-centered activities, including Vermilion Rocks the House, a 4-H program that promoted voting in their community and taught 4-H’ers about elections.

– Ganelle Bullock Staff Outstanding Service Award

Ruth Mutrie is coordinator of Extension Management Operations. She supervises four full-time employees and is responsible for the coordination of a copy and mail center and vehicle fleet.

– Outstanding Service Award for Associates

Tom D. McClure, a research associate in the LSU AgCenter Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, supervises the department’s mechanical and woodworking shops as well as its vehicles.

– Epsilon Sigma Phi Friend of Extension Award

Scott Angelle, secretary of the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources, was recognized for his outstanding public service and support of extension programs. His vision and knowledge of the LSU AgCenter’s programs helped him secure funds to initiate the 4-H Youth Wetlands Program with a three-year grand of $500,000 a year to fund opportunities for youth to learn about conserving Louisiana’s coast.

Rick Bogren

12/15/2009 2:09:06 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture