First day results of 4-H and FFA State Horse Show released

Clinton G. Depew, Van Osdell, Mary Ann  |  7/10/2008 12:18:12 AM

News Release Distributed 7/9/2008

WEST MONROE – Results from the first day of competition at the 39th annual Louisiana 4-H and FFA State Horse Show have been released.

Coordinated by the LSU AgCenter, the event is being held at the Ike Hamilton Expo Center in West Monroe.

Results for breakaway roping, 14 and over are: first, Jack Melancon, Vermilion Parish; second Dillan Helton, St. Landry Parish; third, Alex Shexnider, Vermilion Parish; fourth, Grant Smith, Ascension Parish; fifth, Coy Prejean, Vermilion Parish.

Breakaway roping, 13 and under: first, Ashlee Willson, Concordia Parish; second, Rowdy Parrott, Evangeline Parish; third, Jordan Hudspeth, LaSalle Parish; fourth, Chase Haymon, Vernon Parish; fifth, Lacey Dunn, Rapides.

Tie-down roping, 14 and over: first, Jess Meche, St. Landry Parish; second, Isaac Fontenot, Evangeline Parish; third, Roddy Dubois, Vermilion Parish; fourth, Grant Smith, Ascension Parish; fifth, Garett Holifield, Assumption Parish.

Tie-down roping, 13 and under: first, Mark Callais, Lafourche Parish; second, Tyron-Stephen Williams, Vernon Parish; third, Wade Morrison, Vernon Parish; fourth, Rowdy Parrott, Evangeline Parish; fifth, Ryan Persick, Iberville Parish.

Stake race, 14 and over: first, Kelsey Chesson, Calcasieu Parish; second, Page Nevils, Lafayette Parish; third, Abigail Powers, Calcasieu Parish; fourth, Anna Creech, West Carroll Parish; fifth, Jordan Hudspeth, LaSalle Parish.

Stake race 13 and under: first, Shelby Miller, St. Helena Parish; second, Sarah Fontenot, Evangeline Parish; third, Dustin Angelle, St. Martin Parish; fourth, Tanya Griffith, Bienville Parish; fifth, Codie Robertson, Tangipahoa Parish.

Team penning: first, Coy Prejean, Trevor Picard and Jack Melancon, Vermilion Parish; second, Kristen Morrison, Wade Morrison and Antonio Jackson, DeSoto Parish; third, Samantha Sanburn, Lacey Dunn and Justin Johnson, Rapides Parish; fourth, Chase Swope, Caitlin Nugent and Brandi Wright, Grant Parish; fifth, Kelly Hughes, West Feliciana Parish, and Kylie Averett and Jessica Casanova, Tangipahoa Parish; sixth, Taylor Cunningham, William Cunningham and Kelsey Trenor, DeSoto Parish; seventh, Brandi Wright, Grant Parish, Robbin LeJeune, Acadia Parish, and Justin Griffith, Bienville Parish; eighth, Abby Theriot and Riley Lirette, Terrebonne Parish, and Alex Saver, Bossier Parish.

An awards banquet is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. on July 10.

This is the first year donations have been given to provide savings bonds for all-around winners and classes.

Corporate sponsor is the Monroe-West Monroe Convention and Visitors Bureau. Gold sponsors are the Louisiana Thoroughbred Breeders and Louisiana Equine Council. Silver sponsors are Robicheaux Ranch Inc., Southland Fire and Safety Equipment, Lamar Bridges Quarter Horses, Somers Equestrian Center and Kleinpeter and Cramer Equine Veterinary Services.

Class sponsors are Amedee Enterprises, Bergeron Brothers Rodeo Co., Delta Equine Center (Dr. Larry Findley), Eddie Duncan’s Kindred Spirits Ranch, Deke Somers Equine Adjuster, Smart Pak Equine, Turf Grass Farms, Jim and Susan Vance, Guidry’s Pharmacy, Dr. David and Diane Morrill’s Fantasy Oak Farms, Harper Rodeo Co., Clayton Robin Jobsite Supplies Inc., Jerome and Janet Landry, Louisiana Arabian Youth Association, Louisiana Paint Horse Club, Pine Hill Feed and Hardware, Red Benoit Training Stables and Gary and Vicki Spurlock.


Contact: Dr. Clint Depew at (225) 578-2219 or

Writer: Mary Ann Van Osdell at (318) 741-7430, ext. 1104, or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture