Caddo, Bossier 4-H’ers receive new leader awards

Dwight Landreneau  |  12/6/2008 12:59:17 AM

4-H’ers Chris Cates, Anna Loftin, Caroline Boley and Daniel McFarland won laptops after being recognized at the Discovering Tomorrow's Leaders banquet in Bossier City Dec. 2. All are 4-H'ers in Caddo and Bossier parishes. The event was sponsored by Chesapeake Energy. (Photo by Mary Ann Van Osdell)

News Release Distributed 12/05/08

BOSSIER CITY – Eleven 4-H members were among 16 students in Caddo and Bossier parishes who received Discovering Tomorrow’s Leaders awards, a new program sponsored by Chesapeake Energy.

As part of the honor, which was offered for the first time in the Shreveport area in 2008, each student winner’s school received a computer. All winners were recognized at a banquet Dec. 2, where four of the 16 winners also received laptops from a random drawing. All four were 4-H’ers.

Chesapeake Energy, based in Oklahoma City, opened a regional office in Shreveport this year, and started the awards program. Kevin McCotter, corporate development director, said the company believes in the same values as 4-H – personal excellence, integrity and character.

“I am optimistic of the future, looking at these fine young leaders,” McCotter said at the banquet in Bossier City.

More than 200 nominations were submitted. Winners had to demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities within a volunteer organization beyond the classroom.

“I am extremely proud of all 4-H clubs and members who participated in this event” said Dwight Landreneau, LSU AgCenter associate vice chancellor, who attended the banquet. “I appreciate having a corporate partner support these young leaders of tomorrow.”

The 4-H winners were:

Josh Barrett, Airline High School, who was last year's 4-H state wildlife winner and organized training materials for this year’s state 4-H wildlife team, which finished second in the nation.

Caroline Boley, Captain Shreve High School, president of the junior class, Student Council senator-at-large, Z Club member and cheerleader.

Maggie Brakeville, Benton High School, maintains a 3.9 grade point average, served as 4-H president in 2007 and is current club vice president and 4-H Conservation Club vice president.

Chris Cates, Parkway High School, 4-H member for the past six years and president of the Elm Grove 4-H Club during his seventh- and eighth-grade years.

Khyria Kelly, Central Park Elementary, elected 2008-2009 4-H Club president and recognized as Outstanding 4-H Elementary Girl for 2007-2008.

Tonya Liuzzi, Southwood High School, conducts lessons at the Allendale Friendship House after-school program, serves as president of her 4-H Club and volunteered last summer as camp counselor at 4-H’s Camp Grant Walker.

Anna Loftin, Parkway High School, participates in 4 Junior Leadership and the Conservation Club, reporter for Louisiana Junior Cattlemen’s Association and queen for the National Junior Maine-Anjou Association.

Daniel McFarland, Caddo Magnet High School, Caddo 4-H Club vice president, Louisiana Legislative Advisory Board vice president and Louisiana Junior Angus Association vice president.

Amanda Pittmon, Benton High School, 4-H member for the past eight years, participates in the Glen Retirement Center dog therapy program, Shreveport-Bossier Rescue Mission, Northwest Louisiana War Veterans Home and Special Olympics.

Alex Sauer, Benton Middle School, president of her 4-H Club and active in junior leadership.

Jessica Taylor, Huntington High School, president of her 4-H Club for four years, recruits peers, served on the parish advisory leadership council for three years and conducts lessons for at-risk youth in an after-school program.

The other winners were Alexa Babin, Caddo Middle Magnet School; Carter Boyd, Loyola College Prep; Kourtney Morris, North Caddo High School; Hayden Slack, Calvary Baptist Academy; and Madeline Wheelahan, Elm Grove Middle School.


Writer: Mary Ann Van Osdell (318) 741-7430, ext. 1104, or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture