Leaders Make Donation To LSU AgCenter Program

Wiley M. Futrell, Merrill, Thomas A.  |  5/6/2005 1:56:57 AM

News Release Distributed 05/05/05

Ag Leaders of Louisiana recently continued their tradition of making donations to support the LSU AgCenter’s Agricultural Leadership Development Program.

The group, known as ALL, for short, is made up of graduates of the AgCenter’s Leadership Development Program – which started in 1988 as a means of helping current and future leaders develop the skills and talents they need to be more effective.

ALL members voted April 30 to donate $5,000 to the LSU AgCenter’s Agricultural Leadership Development Program, which is funded and operated through a combination of public and private donations – including partial payments toward the costs that are made by participants.

"We have three goals in the Ag Leadership Program —first, to develop leaders who understand and can participate in the global economy; second, to develop leadership skills and awareness so the participants become effective communicators, and third, to develop leaders who understand social, economic and political systems, so they can support agriculture effectively," said Dr. Mike Futrell, who serves as director of the program for the LSU AgCenter.

Since its inception, 253 people have graduated from the leadership program as members of the eight classes who have completed it so far. A ninth class of 24 participants will complete the program in January, and a 10th group will begin at that time.

Anyone interested in participating in the program can obtain more information by visiting www.lsuagcenter.com or by contacting a parish LSU AgCenter Extension office. Applications for the 10th class in the program are being accepted through Aug. 31, and the two-year program of study for that class will begin in January.

ALL makes annual donations to the Ag Leadership Program, and last year the group donated $10,000 to establish an ALL endowment in the LSU Foundation.

In other matters during the group’s business meeting April 30, new officers were elected. Those were John Goode of Batchelor, who was elected president; Myra Rivet, Morganza, vice president; Jessie Breaux, Franklin, treasurer; and Gene Adolf and Gary Gravois, both from Napoleonville, program chairs.


Contact: Mike Futrell at (225) 578-6359 or mfutrell@agcenter.lsu.edu
Editor: Tom Merrill at (225) 578-2263 or tmerrill@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture