LSU AgCenter Agents Specialists Honored By Professional Association

Linda Benedict, Chaney, John A.  |  6/22/2005 2:27:04 AM

News Release Distributed 06/21/05

The Louisiana County Agricultural Agents Association honored several LSU AgCenter agents and specialists during its annual conference earlier this month in

The top honors presented during the June 5-8 meeting were Distinguished Service Awards presented to Alfred Guidry, an LSU AgCenter agent in St. Martin Parish, and Dr. Ed Twidwell, an agronomist on the AgCenter’s faculty in Baton Rouge.

The association’s Achievement Awards went to Denyse Cummings, an area horticulture agent for the LSU AgCenter working in northwestern Louisiana, and Jimmy Flanagan, an AgCenter agent in St. Mary Parish.

Professional development sessions and presentations during the meeting included a panel discussion involving agricultural commodity leaders and a tour of Gray Ranch where 13,000 cross-bred cattle graze on 30,000 acres of marshland. LSU AgCenter vice chancellors Dr. David Boethel and Dr. Paul Coreil also discussed the latest legislative issues and budget situation with the group.

In other action, officers for 2005-06 were elected. They are Kenneth Sharpe, an LSU AgCenter agent in Livingston Parish, president; R.L. Frazier, an agent in West Carroll Parish, president-elect; Dr. Ed Twidwell, an agronomy professor in Baton Rouge, vice president; Brian Chandler, an agent in East Feliciana Parish, secretary; and Keith Normand, an agent in St. Landry Parish, treasurer. Allen Hogan, an AgCenter agent in Jefferson Davis Parish, is the immediate past president for the group.

Board members elected include: Rusty Batty, St. Tammany Parish; Dr. Boris Castro, Rice Research Station, Crowley; Stan Dutile, Lafayette Parish; Stuart Gauthier, Vermilion Parish; Dr. Kurt Guidry, Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness, Baton Rouge; Jason Homes, Union Parish; Barton Joffrion, Terrebonne Parish; Terrance Marshall, East Baton Rouge Parish; Matt Martin, Rapides Parish; Myrl Sistrunk, West Carroll Parish; Dr. Ron Strahan, Department of Agronomy, Baton Rouge; and Eddie White, Jackson Parish.


Writer: John Chaney at (318) 473-6589 or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture