4-Hers Honored With Scholarships

Wayne W. Williams, Merrill, Thomas A., LaFleur, Kara D.  |  6/22/2005 1:13:31 AM

News Release Distributed 06/21/05

A group of Louisiana 4-H’ers were recognized as scholarship winners Tuesday (June 21) during 4-H University in Baton Rouge.

The 4-H Club members, who excelled in project work and recordkeeping, served as club officers or otherwise distinguished themselves during their years in 4-H,were announced as scholarship winners during a banquet that honored them and other award winners. The scholarship winners also will be recognized during an assembly at 4-H University Wednesday evening.

4-H University, formerly known as 4-H Short Course during its 91-year history, is an LSU AgCenter event that brings young people from across Louisiana to Baton Rouge. The presentations Tuesday were just part of the three-day LSU AgCenter event, which is designed to provide participants with opportunities for showing off their knowledge in 4-H project areas ranging from computer science to nutrition, as well as supplying a vast range of other educational opportunities and chances for fun.

"It’s a pleasure to honor these young people who have worked hard and deserve this recognition," said Terril Faul, head of the 4-H youth development program for the LSU AgCenter. "We’re glad we can help them continue their education.

"We know these scholarship winners represent the best of the best in our 4-H program, but we also know there are many more 4-H’ers out there worthy of the same sort of recognition. We extend our congratulations to all of them."

In all, 76 scholarships were presented to 4-H’ers during the June 21-24 events. Some of the largest awards went to 16 4-H Club members, who received scholarships ranging from $300 to $1,200 through the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. Another 48 young people received $100 scholarships from the 4-H Foundation and 10 4-H’ers were awarded $100 scholarships to study on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge. In addition, one member received an American Legion Scholarship of $400, and another received the Syndney E. Wood Scholarship of $300.

Winners of the major scholarships, their hometowns and the scholarships they received were:

–Sarah Elizabeth Mouton, Youngsville, Bruce Flint Scholarship, $1,200.

–James Christopher Head, Thibodaux, Gloria Perkins Scholarship, $1,100.

–Lauren Nicole Mouton, Abbeville, C.J. Naquin Scholarship, $1,000.

–Raimy Nicole Living, Lafayette, Carl and Beaulah Baldridge Scholarship, $1,000.

–Brandi Racque Andrews, Shreveport, Cliff Williams Scholarship, $800.

–Shea Anthony Vidrine, Crowley, Lod Cook Scholarship, $700.

–Jennifer Martin, Glenmora, Ruth Johnson Scholarship, $700.

–Shawn Michael Zeringue, Raceland, Gerry Lane Enterprises Scholarship, $600.

–Catherine Rhnea Cater, Harrisonburg, Louisiana Milk Producers Association Scholarship, $500.

–Katie Marie Pellitteri, Violet, Mark Bonner Scholarship, $400.

–Amanda Lynn Johnson, Eunice, A.P. Beryl Parham Scholarship, $375.

–Allison Sloane Cart, Elton, Lee Berwick Scholarship, $375.

–Sarah K. Batty, Bush, Dr. and Mrs. Edward W. Gassie Scholarship, $500.

–Alex Joseph Guillory, Ville Platte, Joseph and Malvina Lamendola Scholarship, $325.

–Eric Kent Brown, Jennings, H.C. Sanders Scholarship, $300.

–Sarah Elizabeth Walker, St. Francisville, Daniel Fontenot, Jr. Scholarship, $200.

–Eric Dodd Kimbrough, Prairieville, American Legion Scholarship, $400.

–Erin Elizabeth Kliebert, Convent, Sidney E. Wood Scholarship, $300.

Those who received the LSU Baton Rouge Scholarships were Candace Genee’ Abshire, Vermilion Parish; Tessa Michele Boudreaux, Terrebonne Parish; Caleb Landry, Vernon Parish; Amanda Kaye LeBlanc, Iberville Parish; Kendall Ray Lemelle, Lafayette Parish; Jared Paul Normand, St. Landry Parish; Terilyn Parker, St. Mary Parish; Jessica Marie Weeks, Terrebonne Parish; John M. Welborn III, Vernon Parish; and Stephanie Marie Young, Iberville Parish.

The 48 4-H’ers who received $100 Louisiana 4-H Foundation Scholarships were Jada Allen, Richland Parish; Brandi Racque Andrews, Caddo Parish; Elizabeth Ann Aycock, Claiborne Parish; Sarah K. Batty, St. Tammany Parish; Jessica Danielle Elise Beard, St. Landry; Jessica Ama Berthelot, St. John Parish; Danielle Brinson, Tensas Parish; Eric Kent Brown, Jefferson Davis Parish; Samantha A. Buras, Plaquemines Parish; Stephanie Elaine Carroll, Sabine Parish; Catherine Rhnea Cater, Catahoula Parish; Victoria Courville, Calcasieu Parish; Kristi L. Dufrene, Livingston Parish; Stephanie Erin Emerson, Bossier Parish; Kristina Paige Frazier, West Carroll Parish; Mai Rachel Granger, Lafayette Parish; Natalie Diana Griffith, Cameron Parish; Keli Gros, Assumption Parish; Alex Joseph Guillory, Evangeline Parish; Rudolph B. Hennigan III, Natchitoches Parish; Donovan Dewayne Hill, Rapides Parish; Kathy Mai Huynh, Jefferson Parish; Nellisha Deshay Johnson, Bienville Parish; Eric Dodd Kimbrough, Ascension Parish; Nicole Ann Kliebert, St. James Parish; Caleb Landry, Vernon; Amanda Kaye LeBlanc, Iberville Parish; Sarah Angela Miller, East Baton Rouge Parish; Ashley Lauren Milton, Washington Parish; Caitlin Alexandra Morris, Lafourche Parish; Lauren Nicole Mouton, Vermilion Parish; Sarah Elizabeth Mouton, Iberia Parish; Kimberly Lynne Nichols, Grant Parish; Jonathan Paul Olinde, Pointe Coupee Parish; Katie Marie Pellitteri, St. Bernard Parish; Monica Marie Petch, Avoyelles Parish; Steven Phillips, St. Mary Parish; Monica Arlinda Richardson, Lincoln Parish; Lucas Kyle Rowland, St. Landry; Casie Smart, East Feliciana Parish; Wacey Cole Taylor, Webster Parish; Elizabeth Marie Thevis, Acadia Parish; Keely Alexis Voorhies, Beauregard Parish; Sarah Elizabeth Walker, West Feliciana Parish; Lauren Brooke Walker, Winn Parish; Anna Elizabeth Wallace, Franklin Parish; Jessica Marie Weeks, Terrebonne Parish; and Kelsey Elizabeth Wilkerson, Red River Parish.


Contact: Trey Williams at (225) 578-2196 or wwillliams@agcenter.lsu.edu
Writers: Tom Merrill and Kara Lafleur at (225) 578-2263 or tmerrill@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture