LSU AgCenter Family And Consumer Science Faculty Honored

Mary Virginia Boutwell  |  4/19/2005 10:28:39 PM

News Release Distributed May 2004

The Louisiana Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences honored outstanding LSU AgCenter faculty at a ceremony March 11 during the LEAFCS annual conference in Baton Rouge.

National Distinguished Service awards went to LSU AgCenter extension agent Cathy J. Holmes of St. John Parish and Dr. Diane D. Sasser, associate professor of family development at the state office on the LSU AgCenter campus. The two will receive these awards again at a national meeting later this year.

Holmes and Sasser were recognized for their leadership, educational program efforts and professional development.

Receiving Continued Excellence awards were LSU AgCenter extension agents Kate Ordeneaux of Lafayette Parish and Patricia Staggs of Jackson Parish. This award recognizes LEAFCS members who have been actively involved in professional improvement programs, the promotion of professional development of others and leadership.

The Betty Jane Fairchild Award, given in memory of Dr. Betty Jane Fairchild who had an exemplary career as an agent and administrator, went to Melissa W. Cater of Catahoula Parish.

Esther C. Vanderlick of Rapides Parish was awarded the New Professional Award, which is given to an active member of LEAFCS who has worked at least one year but not more than three years with the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service.

Communications awards included: Written News, to Ann Wegenhoft of Iberville Parish and Deniese Zeringue of St. Charles Parish; Educational Technology, to Sasser of the state office; Educational Curriculum Package (team award) to Sasser, Danna Gillett of Ouachita Parish, Kim Evans of LaSalle Parish, Cathy Judd of Lincoln Parish, Kay Singleton of St. Helena Parish, Pam Gauthreaux of Terrebonne Parish, Jamie Roy of Orleans Parish and the spring 1998 class of Human Ecology 4051.

The team of Terri Crawford of Concordia Parish, Kay Parnell of Richland Parish, Lou Altazan-Brown of Grant Parish, Cathy Agan of Ouachita Parish and Kayla Sevier of Tensas Parish also received an award for Educational Curriculum Package.

Other awards presented were: Marketing Package, to Zeringue; Community Partnership, to Berteal Rogers of Madison Parish; and Early Childhood Child Care Training, to Evans.

Zeringue also won the Maxine Reeves Memorial Award.

Retirees recognized for their years of service with plaques were Caroline Hazmuka, who worked in LaSalle Parish and Harriet Bridges, who worked in East Carroll Parish.

New officers for 2004-2005 are: Crawford, president; Cater, vice president of professional development; Ginger Boutwell of Franklin Parish, vice president of awards and recognition; Adrianne Vidrine of Acadia Parish, vice president of member resources; Monica Olinde of Pointe Coupee Parish, vice president of public affairs; Danna Gillett of Ouachita Parish, secretary; Laura Lea Perault of Livingston Parish, treasurer; and Sharman Charles of East Baton Rouge Parish, parliamentarian.

Also installed were regional directors Judd, Drusilla LeVrier of Allen Parish and Iris Webb of St. Tammany Parish. Alternate regional directors are Terry Foster of Bossier Parish, Evans and Darlene Jones of Washington Parish. Ophelia Allen of Rapides Parish is historian and immediate past president.

For information on related family and consumer topics in family, housing and nutrition, visit the FCS Web site at
Departments/fcs/. For local information and educational programs, contact an extension agent in your parish LSU AgCenter office.


On the Internet: LSU AgCenter:
Source: Mary Virginia Boutwell (318) 435-7551, or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture