Food/Fitness Board Coordinators and Others Honored at State LAE4-HA Conference

Mark A. Claesgens, Coolman, Denise  |  4/19/2005 10:28:38 PM

News You Can Use For October 2004 

NATCHITOCHES – 4-H State Food & Fitness Board coordinators earned this year’s Excellence in Teamwork award at the LAE4-HA state conference August 19. The winners were board chair and Rapides Parish associate 4-H agent Lois E. Brister, co-chair and DeSoto Parish assistant 4-H agent Lorna Atwell and adviser Catrinel Stanciu, nutrition extension associate in the state office.

The three were honored for their efforts in planning and conducting the State 4-H Food & Fitness Camp held last January at the Grant Walker 4-H Educational Center. By winning first place, they received $500 from LAE4-H for the program.

Additional LSU AgCenter 4-H faculty were recognized for their hard work and dedication. (Office locations follow their names.) Young Agent awards went to Taharga Hart (St. John) and Patricia Trosclair (Assumption). Lisa A. Benoit (St. Landry) earned the Achievement in Service Award.

Distinguished Service awards were given to Debbie Bairnsfather (NE Region), Joe Bairnsfather (Concordia) and Sheila Haynes (West Carroll). Mark Tassin (SE Region) received the Meritorious Service Award.

The Excellence in Teamwork award is given to a program conducted on a parish, bi-parish, regional, district or state level by a team of extension agents who work together to promote excellence programs for youth.

This award followed on the heels of the annual statewide 4-H State Record Book contest in July, which was won by the Food & Fitness Board, the group that Brister, Atwell and Stanciu advise. First place comes with $25 from the State 4-H Foundation.

Brister, Atwell and Stanciu had guided board members in detailing goals set, issues covered, methods used and outcomes realized. The record was submitted in the category of club/group health. A panel of 4-H agents and volunteers served as judges.

"These awards are really to honor the hard work of the kids who serve on the 4-H Food & Fitness Board," Brister said.

The conference also presented service awards. Margaret Frey (St. Landry), Dr. Steve Mullen (Crescent Region) and Dr. Robert Richard (State Office) were recognized for 30 years of service. Joan McCrory (State Office) was recognized for 35 years of service.

Agents recognized for 25 years of service included Jane Jones (Grant Walker 4-H Ed Center), Marie LeMoine (Avoyelles), Chic Core (Tangipahoa), Dr. Paul Coreil (Extension Director), Dr. Bob Hutchinson (State Office) and Dr. Bill Branch (State Office). These faculty also will be recognized at the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents Convention in Oklahoma City in October.

4-H Agent Ada Palmero (Iberia) was recognized for 20 years of service and Bobby Fletcher Jr. (Lafourche), Drusilla Levrier (Allen) and Kem Villejoin (Vernon) for 15 years of service.

Agents recognized for 10 years of service were David Boldt (Lafourche), Julia McLain (Grant), Charles Hebert (Lafayette), Blair Hebert (Iberia) and Trent Guidry (Calcasieu). Those recognized for five years of service were Brenda Melancon (St. Martin), Jan Morgan (Plaquemines), Connie Parolli (East Baton Rouge), Lorna Atwell (Natchitoches)and Patricia Trosclair (Assumption).

New officers announced for LAE4-HA are President Ada Palmero (Iberia), Vice President Trent Guidry (Calcasieu), Secretary Patricia Trosclair (Assumption), Reporter Nancy Cronan (Calcasieu) and Treasurer Jeannie Crnkovic (Bossier). Becky Owen (Morehouse) is the president-elect.

The Awards program completed a week of educational sessions and activities that began with nationally known keynote speaker Sam Silverstein, who spoke to agents about "The Power of Choice" and challenged them to create the future they desired by making the right choices.


Writer: Mark Claesgens (225) 578-2939, or
Writer: Denise Coolman (318) 345-2834, or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture