25 Future Leaders Begin Ag Development Program

Wiley M. Futrell, Soileau, Robert J.

News Release Distributed 2/23/04

Twenty-five men and women from across Louisiana have been accepted into the two-year Agricultural Leadership Development Program sponsored by the LSU AgCenter.

Established in 1988, this program provides educational opportunities for potential leaders involved with agriculture and agribusiness, according to Dr. Mike Futrell, director. Since its inception, eight different classes, representing more than 250 people, have graduated from the program.

“The curriculum includes 10 intense seminars during the two years – seven on the LSU campus and three off-campus,” Futrell said.

The away seminars include visits to Washington, D.C., to meet with the country’s leaders in agriculture policy and to Chicago to see the Board of Trade in operation. The final seminar is an international study tour to foreign countries to learn how other agricultural, economic and social systems work.

“The international study tour is an extraordinary growth experience for the class. They visit with farmers, government officials, agribusiness professionals and citizens of other countries,” Futrell said. “The last class went to Chile and Argentina.”

The program is funded through endowments from the Chalkey family of Lake Charles and H. Rouse Caffey, a former LSU AgCenter chancellor. Participation in the program is based on a competitive application and interview process. Those accepted into the program pay a nominal tuition fee.

Members of Class IX include farmers, ranchers, scientists, educators and business people. Their names and hometowns are:

G. West Benoit, Welsh
Marlin J. Boudreaux, Jeanerette
John Earl Carroll, Gilbert
Jason T. Condrey, Lake Providence
Andre Danos, Lockport
Wilfred J. Danos Jr., Iowa
Oscar Evans II, Gonzales
G. Adam Faulk, Winnsboro
J. Todd Fontenot, Eunice
Karl A. Glaser, New Roads
J. Arte Goode Jr., Sicily Island
Henry Harrison, Franklinton
Robert B. Holt II, Lake Providence
Mary L. LeBlanc, Prairieville
Mark D. Legendre, Baton Rouge
Mark S. Marionneaux, Baton Rouge
Justin L. Nix, Morse
Albert Richard Jr., Jennings
Kent E. Roblin, Moreauville
Henry A. Schumacher, Husser
Deborah K. Slaughter, Shreveport
Timothy S. Smith, Raceland
Michael J. Stout, Baton Rouge
Marty G. Wooldridge, Oil City
Phillip A. Zaunbrecher, Rayne


            Mike Futrell at (225) 578-3659 or mfutrell@agcenter.lsu.edu

            Bobby Soileau at (225) 578-5670 or bsoileau@agcenter.lsu.edu

4/22/2005 11:08:08 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture