Annual Report - 2009


JUNE 10-12, 2009
Fayetteville, AR

The 2009 meeting of the SERA-IEG 27 was held June 10-12 in Fayetteville, AR. Official representatives present were: Dewayne Ingram (Administrative Advisor, University of Kentucky), Patricia Knight, Administrative Advisor, Mississippi State University), Win Dunwell (Extension, University of Kentucky), Ed Bush (Research, Louisiana State University), Allen Owings (Extension, Louisiana State University), Eugene Blythe (Research, Mississippi State University), Todd West (Research, West Virginia University), Rumen Conev (Research, Virginia Tech) and Jim Robbins (Extension, University of Arkansas). Guest present was Sven Svenson (SE Missouri State University). States not represented were Alabama, Texas, Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma, North Carolina, USDA, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

This was Dewayne Ingram’s last meeting as administrative advisor. The group is to forward recommendations on another administrative advisor to Patricia Knight. The new SERA-IEG 27 website was debuted by Allen Owings. One plant was distributed for evaluation - Hypericum olympicum by Win Dunwell. Evaluation/distribution of Eucalyptus neglecta (omeo gum) from Gene Blythe was also approved. The group discussed the need to complete identification of SERA 27 evaluated plants that have become “mainstream” in the industry. Examples are Magnolia ‘Jon Jon’ and Lagerstroemia ‘Pocomoke’. Win Dunwell is to complete this listing. Allen Owings distributed a ornamental plant production, marketing and promotion potential survey. Reports have been completed by LA, AR, MS, KY, GA, NC, FL, TN, and TX. Results will be compiled and presentations will be developed for publication in trade magazines, ASHS-SR abstracts, SNA articles, etc. Jim Robbins is to pursue publishing an American Nurseryman article on SERA-IEG 27 and plants evaluated.

Officers for 2009-2010 are President - Alex Niemiera (Virginia Tech), Secretary - Anthony LeBude (North Carolina State), and Board Member – Todd West (West Virginia). The plant evaluation committee continues with Ed Bush as chair, along with Win Dunwell, Gene Blythe and Todd West. The 2010 meeting will be held in Georgia with John Ruter as local host. Morgantown, WV is being considered for the 2011 meeting with Todd West as local host.

8/2/2009 1:43:14 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture