Annual Report - 2005

The 2005 meeting of the SERA-IEG 27 was held June 8-10, 2005 in Quincy, Florida. Official representatives present were: John Ruter (UGA), Ken Tilt (AU), Jon Lindstrom (UA), Gary Knox (UF), Winston Dunwell (UK), Ed Bush (LSU), Allen Owings (LSU), Patricia Knight (MSU), William Klingeman (UT), Mike Arnold (TAMU), Greg Eaton (VT), Anthony LeBude (NCSU), Dewayne Ingram (Administrative Advisor, UK), and James Green (CSREES). Guests: Cecil Pounders (USDA-ARS), Wayne McLaurin (MSU), Alex Bolques (FAMU). States not represented: Oklahoma, South Carolina, US National Arboretum.

Members reviewed the status of the SERA-IEG 27 program, plants in review, and the web page Project leaders need to review the website and indicate who received plants and make changes if necessary. Good pictures and descriptions are needed. Evaluators need to indicate if they have plants and are continuing evaluation. Current findings will be published in the proceedings of the Southern Nursery Associate Research Conference and the Southern Region of the International Plant Propagators’ Society. Objectives for the new project must be decided. A draft will be available at the next meeting. New plants adopted for evaluation included: Ceanothus x delilianus 'Gloire de Versailles', Pinus ayacahuite, and Viburnum luzonicum.

Officers elected for 2005-2006 were Patricia Knight-Chair, Mike Scheiber-Secretary, and Greg Eaton-Executive Committee. Ken Tilt is still serving as Chair of the Plant Evaluation Committee. Mississippi is scheduled to host the 2006 meeting in Poplarville. The 2007 meeting will be in Kentucky, and the 2008 meeting is tentatively scheduled for Virginia.

6/3/2009 6:26:02 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture