Annual Report - 2004

The 2004 meeting of the SERA-IEG-27 was held June 2 to 4, 2004 in Fletcher, North Carolina. Official Representatives present were: Tom Ranney (NC); Allen Owings & Ed Bush (LSU); Donna Fare & Cecil Pounders (U.S.D.A.); Patricia Knight (MSU); Ken Tilt (Auburn); Win Dunwell (UK); Jon Lindstrom (UA); Greg Eaton (VT); Michelle Scheiber (UF); John Ruter (UGA); and & Dewayne Ingram (Administrative Advisor). Guests: Ann Gray (LSU). States not represented: Texas, Oklahoma, and South Carolina.

Members reviewed the status of the SERA IEG 27 program, plants in review, and the web page Procedures for a uniformed spreadsheet were established. Dewayne Ingram (Administrative Advisor) reported that our SERA Group was approved through 2007. New plants adopted for evaluation included: Buddleia 'Elliot Werner, Buddleia 'Petite Indigo', Buddleia 'Miss Vicie', Calycanthus 'Venus' PPAF, Parrotia 'Jennifer Teats' and Viburnum luzonicum. It was agreed upon to submit a paper for publication at the SNA Conference with plant evaluation results from the SERA-IEG evaluation program.

Officers elected for 2004-2005 were Ed Bush - Chair; Patricia Knight - Secretary; and Michelle Scheiber - Executive Committee Member. Ken Tilt will serve as Chair of the Plant Evaluation Committee beginning in 2004. Florida is scheduled to host the 2005 meeting in Quincy, FL in June. Gary Knox will be the site coordinator. The 2006 meeting is tentatively slated for Poplarville, MS and 2007 in Kentucky.

6/3/2009 6:19:49 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture