2012 Gamma Sigma Delta Spring Awards Banquet

The 2012 Gamma Sigma Delta Spring Awards Banquet was held Wednesday, April 25, in the LSU Student Union Cotillion Ballroom. Keynote speaker was Jim Purcell, Louisiana Commissioner of Higher Education.

Below is a list of award recipients for 2012:

Undergraduate Student Awards:

Outstanding Junior – Scholarship Award of Merit

Kristi Michelle Harrison , Dept. of Biological & Agricultural Engineering 

Outstanding Senior – Scholarship Award of Merit

Suzanne Raspa, Human Ecology 

Sophomore Scholarship Award of Merit

  • Kaity Leigh Addison
  • Kristin Taylor Barnes
  • Bradley Leston Bernard
  • Allison Michelle Bosworth
  • Brianna Leilani Bourgeois
  • Megan Ann Bouvier
  • Jessica L. Bracken
  • Shane Thomas Buck
  • Rachel Lynn Coe
  • Taylor Leigh Covington
  • Jennifer Alaine Dawson
  • Elisabeth Rose Ducoing
  • Carson Monroe Garand
  • Catherine Marie Garcia
  • Jessica A. Hunt
  • Katelyne Elizabeth Jackson
  • Michael Francis Kelley Jr.
  • Kayla Marie Krodinger
  • Christine Kelly Lawson
  • Hanif Rauf Soysal 
  • Lindsey Rene Lafleur
  • Matthew S. Laiche
  • Matthew James Landry
  • Danielle Marie McCarthy
  • David Michael Mahoney
  • Callie Jean Mitchell
  • Rion Toshio Mooneyham
  • Ramzy Abdul Muhsen
  • Alexander John Nadler
  • Gretchen Marie Rothermel
  • Hunter Mathew Starring
  • Katherine Michelle Sternitzke
  • Dara Wren Strickland
  • Christopher Brian Sylvestor
  • Aurora M. Vargas
  • Maci Suzanne Walsh
  • Carter Wenner Ward
  • Jennifer Marie West
  • Gretchen L. Zieske 

Undergraduate Research Poster Awards

Most Relevant to Science and Society

Rachel Horil , School of Animal Sciences
Advisor – Dennis Ingram

Most Innovative Research

Mary Jane Nguyen and Tel Rouse, Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering
Advisors – Todd Monroe and Christian Quitadamo

Best Overall Presentation

Melissa McDowell, School of Animal Sciences
Advisor – Kenneth Bondioli

Science and Engineering Fair Awards

Junior Division

Abigail Jenkins and Brandi Mowen, Fifth Ward Junior High School, Bush

Senior Division

Rithika Thirumal, Ovey Comeaux High School, Lafayette 

Graduate Student Awards

Outstanding Masters Student

Som Bohora, School of Renewable Natural Resources

Outstanding Ph.D. Student

Pamela Mitcham, School of Animal Sciences

Graduate Student Merit Honor Roll

  • Luis Alfaro
  • Som Bohora
  • Luis Espinoza-Rodezno
  • Jessica Hill
  • Wannita Jirangrat
  • Pamela Mitcham
  • Marvin Moncada
  • Erastus Ndinguri
  • Daniel Smith
  • Kevin Mis Solval
  • Maria Vives
  • Wisdom Wardy 

Faculty Award Recipients

Research Certificate of Merit

Ashok Mishra, Department Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness

Extension Certificate of Merit

 Allen Owings, Hammond Research Station

Teaching Certificate of Merit

Michael Kaller, School of Renewable Natural Resources 

Teacher Merit Honor Roll

Dept. of Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness

  • Joshua Detre
  • Wes Harrison

School of Animal Sciences

  • Kayanush J. Aryana
  • Bruce Jenny
  • Jennifer Ritchie
  • Cathleen Williams

Dept. of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

  • Richard Bengston
  • Anna Dugas
  • Steve Hall
  • Daniel Hayes
  • Todd Monroe
  • Cristina Sabilov
  • Chandra Theegala

Department of Food Science

  • Witoon Prinyawiwatkul
  • Subramaniam Sathivel

School of Plant, Environmental and Soil Sciences

  • Jeff Beasley
  • Lewis Gaston
  • James Griffin
  • Steve Harrison
  • David Himelrick
  • Charles Johnson
  • Robert Mirabello
  • Carl Motsenbocker
  • David Picha
  • Maud Walsh
  • Paul Wilson

School of Veterinary Clinical Science

Zhimin Xu

New Officers (2012-2013)

President -- Jeffrey Gillespie
President-elect -- Krishna Paudel
Secretary -- Karen Carriere
Treasure -- Ashok Mishra
Historian -- Denise Attaway
Past President -- Bobby Soileau

Jim Purcell
5/16/2012 12:23:56 AM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture