LSU College of Agriculture News Summer 2022

The magazine logo is on a blank background.

LSU Ag Econ Quiz Bowl Team Wins Back-To-Back National Championships

LSU won the 2022 Academic Bowl competition at the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) Annual Meeting.

The winning team members were Daniel Harris, Mimi Rivette and Michael Younis.

"It came down to sudden death, a single question to determine the winner, and we pulled through," said Jerrod Penn, assistant professor in the Department of Agricultural Economics and coach for the quiz bowl team.

Other teammates participating in the AAEA Academic Bowl competition were Livie Broussard, Janie Chapin and Westin Cobb. In addition to the quiz bowl victory, LSU students gained additional honors in AAEA competitions.

Cobb placed first in the spreadsheet competition based on his undergraduate research project. Mimi Rivette placed first in the student paper competition.

Annabelle Lang

LSU Dietetics Program Receives Perfect Internship Match Rate for Third Consecutive Year

Each year, thousands of applicants apply for dietetics internships across the country, but the match rate average is around 60%.

Erin McKinley, director of the Didactic Program in Dietetics for LSU, did not doubt that the LSU dietetic class of 2022 would receive a 100% match rate to internships, and for the third consecutive year the class did.

Twenty-one spring graduates and one alumnus of the LSU dietetics concentration successfully matched to dietetics internship as a pathway to becoming a registered dietitian.

"The class of 2022 was my first class from start to finish,” McKinley said. “I've been watching them grow as not only students of dietetics but as young, well-rounded professionals and leaders."

The advanced training and development students undergo in the dietetics concentration makes them competitive applicants and highly sought out by internship programs.

Annabelle Lang

Agricultural and Extension Education Student Receives the K.C. Toups Memorial Les Voyageurs Award

Zachary Mayfield, an agricultural and extension education with a concentration in leadership, received the 2022 K.C. Toups Memorial Les Voyageurs Award.

Mayfield said being surrounded by a support team with the shared goal of advancing agriculture through research, education and service makes him proud to be in the College of Agriculture.

In addition to being a member of Les Voyageurs, Mayfield is heavily involved in other LSU campus student organizations and activities. He is the president of the national honor society Omicron Delta Kappa, a student worker for the dean's office and served as vice president of the Agriculture Student Association.

Annabelle Lang

These briefs appeared in the summer 2022 issue of Louisiana Agriculture.

A man and two women pose for a photo.

The LSU AAEA champion quiz bowl team included, from left, Michael Younis, Mimi Rivette and Daniel Harris. Rivette also placed first in the undergraduate paper competition. Photo by Westin Cobb

A group of college graduates poses for a photo.

Spring graduates of the School of Nutrition and Food Sciences pose with faculty members. Program director Erin McKinley stands on the center of the bottom row. The LSU College of Agriculture School of Nutrition and Food Sciences houses the nutrition and food sciences major and dietetics concentration. Photo by Annabelle Lang

A man poses for a photo. 

Zachary Mayfield received the 2022 K.C. Toups Memorial Les Voyageurs Award. Photo by Annabelle Lang

9/16/2022 4:01:09 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture