Sustainable Gardening for School and Home Gardens: Sweet Corn

Denyse Cummins, Motsenbocker, Carl E.

Corn is a member of the Poaceae family, also known as the grass or cereal family, which includes wheat, oats, barley, rye, sugarcane and rice, as well as bamboo and many ornamentals, such as the lawn grasses. There are many types of corn that can be grown and used for human food although there are two major types: corn that is harvested when mature as a dried grain (field corn) and corn that is harvested immature as a vegetable referred to as sweet corn. Grain corn types include: popcorn, ornamental corn, flint corn, flour corn, waxy corn and dent corn. Dent corn, also called grain corn, is mostly grown in the United States. Sweet corn as a vegetable was introduced to Europeans in the 1700s.

For full guide, please see PDF.

6/2/2022 4:11:48 PM
Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture