11 from Northwest Louisiana inducted into Louisiana 4-H Hall of Fame

Karen Martin, Van Osdell, Mary Ann, Landreneau, Dwight  |  3/27/2008 1:36:31 AM

Eleven people from Northwest Louisiana were inducted into the Louisiana 4-H Hall of Fame on March 7. Seated, from left: Lou Powell representing Joe Don Powell (deceased), Beverly Gourdon Bruce, Mary McKee Williams, Nancy Nettles and Sheila Farmer; standing, from left: Jack Bagent, Jon V. Lowe, Albert Doughty, Idell Snowden, Wayne “Butch” Williams and Rick Hargis. (Photo by Mark Claesgens) (Click on image to download larger version.)

News Release Distributed 03/11/08

SHREVEPORT – Eleven people from Northwest Louisiana were inducted into the Louisiana 4-H Hall of Fame here on March 7.

The inductees and their parishes are Albert Doughty and Dr. Jack Bagent, Bossier; John Lowe and Mary Williams, Caddo; Beverly Bruce, DeSoto; Rick Hargis and Idell Snowden, Natchitoches; Nancy Nettles, Red River; Sheila Farmer, Sabine; and Wayne Williams, Webster.

Joe Don Powell of Red River was inducted posthumously.

The honorees were nominated by parish and regional staff of the LSU AgCenter. The 11 will join 89 other candidates being inducted statewide this year. The 100 honorees will be featured in the state 4-H Museum in Avoyelles Parish when it opens in December as one of the culminating activities of 4-H’s centennial in Louisiana.

The Northwest Louisiana honorees were cited for their major accomplishments with 4-H:

Bossier – Albert Doughty started his 4-H involvement in the fourth grade and continued by working for the LSU AgCenter for 33 years. He was county agent and parish chair. He is currently mayor of Benton.

Jack Bagent served as director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service, was on the National 4-H Council Board and was chair of the Land Grant Extension Budget Committee.

Caddo – John Lowe was a 4-H agent and parish chair. He serves on the Ark-La-Tex Agricultural Council, Caddo Parish Farm Bureau and State Fair of Louisiana board of directors.

Mary Williams’ mother was in the 1908 Corn Club that later became 4-H. Mary Williams was an adult leader for the Caddo 4-H Junior Leadership Club and is a member of the Ark-La-Tex Ag Council.

DeSoto – Beverly Bruce was an extension home economist and later a member of the Louisiana Legislature, where she championed 4-H character education programs and was instrumental in establishing 4-H Day at the Capitol.

Natchitoches – Rick Hargis, Natchitoches Parish tax assessor, has represented Northwest Louisiana on the State 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees. He was instrumental in providing funds to build a 4-H exhibit building and livestock facility.

Idell Snowden, an extension agent for 34 years, serves her parish as a 4-H Foundation trustee and as a member of the 4-H and Family Consumer Sciences advisory councils.

Red River – Joe Don Powell, a former county agent, devoted much of his time to educational programs on entomology, livestock, plant science and wildlife.

Nancy Nettles has been involved with 4-H for 42 years. She has received the State Alumni Award, Attorney General’s Livestock Leader Award and Outstanding Leadership Award and has served on the 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees.

Sabine – Sheila Farmer has been a volunteer for 22 years, chaperoning, planning workshops, organizing meetings and helping at Achievement Day.

Webster – Wayne Williams, superintendent of schools, was not a 4-H member, but his son was state president. He welcomes LSU AgCenter staff to school board and principal meetings and grants permission for 4-H Fun Day to be held during a school day.

“4-H is strong and well because of the efforts of those of you seated here tonight,” said Dwight Landreneau, LSU AgCenter associate vice chancellor. “Louisiana is on the rise in enrollment in 4-H, and that is not necessarily true in our neighboring states. We need volunteers, their support, help and guidance. You are all special to us.”

Photographs of the inductees are available by contacting Karen Martin, 4-H regional coordinator, at (318) 927-2578, or kmartin@agcenter.lsu.edu.


Contacts: Karen Martin at (318) 927-2578, or kmartin@agcenter.lsu.edu

Dwight Landreneau at (225) 578-2391, or dlandreneau@agcenter.lsu.edu

Mark Tassin at (225) 578-2196, or mgtassin@agcenter.lsu.edu

Writer: Mary Ann Van Osdell at (318) 741-7430, ext. 1104, or mvanosdell@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture