La. 4-H’ers honored with 2008 scholarships

Eric Eskew, Merrill, Thomas A.  |  6/20/2008 3:13:13 AM

News Release Distributed 06/19/08 (Corrected 06/23/08)

BATON ROUGE – Winners of 4-H scholarships were among those honored during ceremonies at the LSU AgCenter’s 4-H University June 17-20.

The young adults from across Louisiana were honored at an awards banquet Tuesday (June 17) and at an assembly Wednesday (June 18).

They were credited with excelling in project work and recordkeeping, serving as club officers or otherwise distinguishing themselves during their years in 4-H.

4-H University, known as 4-H U, for short, is an LSU AgCenter event that brings young people from across Louisiana to Baton Rouge for educational events, contests and other activities. The scholarship presentations were just part of the activities during the 94th annual event, which provides participants with opportunities to demonstrate their knowledge in 4-H project areas ranging from computer science to nutrition, as well as supplying a vast range of other educational opportunities and chances for fun.

“We salute this group of 2008 high school graduates who have excelled in 4-H project work, community service, leadership and academic work,” said Eric Eskew, executive director of the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. “Even more, we’re definitely happy that we can help them continue their education by providing these scholarships.”

Eskew and LSU AgCenter Vice Chancellor Paul Coreil said the 32 state scholarship recipients were picked from 115 entries in the Louisiana 4-H scholarship program and that they represent the “cream of the cream of the crop.”

“We’re pleased to honor these young people, but it’s good to know how many more 4-H’ers are out there who also have worked hard and deserve recognition. We extend our congratulations and best wishes to all of them, because they all are winners,” Coreil said.

Some of the largest awards went to 20 4-H Club members who received named scholarships ranging from $150 to $1,000 through the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. Another 10 4-H’ers were awarded $300 scholarships to study on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge, and three others were recognized with American Legion, Syndney E. Wood and Bot Burch scholarships – to round out the state scholarship winners. In addition, 48 young people received $100 parish scholarships from the 4-H Foundation.

Winners of the named scholarships from the Louisiana 4-H Foundation, the parishes in which they participated in 4-H and their hometowns were:

Bruce Flint Scholarship ($1,000) – Kevin Goebel, Jefferson Davis Parish, Elton.

Gloria Perkins Scholarship ($1,000) – Gabrielle Guidry, St. Martin, Breaux Bridge.

Carl and Beulah Baldridge Scholarship ($1,000) – Erika Anderson, Bossier, Benton.

C.J. Naquin Scholarship ($800) – William Dunckelman, Terrebonne, Houma.

Larry de la Bretonne Jr. Scholarship ($600) – Gary Decossa, St. Bernard, Arabi.

Gerry Lane Enterprises Scholarship ($600) – Ann Elizabeth Brown, Rapides, Colfax.

Cliff Williams Scholarship ($550) – Eve Franchebois, Lafayette (parish), Lafayette (city).

Lod Cook Scholarship ($500) – Donna Guidry, St. Martin, Arnaudville.

McCrory Family Scholarship ($500) – Emily Landry, Acadia, Rayne.

Ruth Johnson Scholarship ($500) – Sara Menard, Caddo, Shreveport.

Louisiana Milk Producers Association ($500) – Kristina Coats, Livingston, Albany.

Jason McClaran Scholarship ($450) – Camille Berken, Jefferson Davis, Jennings.

Dr. and Mrs. Edward W. Gassie Scholarship ($400) – Aaron Martin, Rapides, Glenmora.

A.P. and Beryl Parham Memorial Scholarship ($350) – Katherine Robillard, Pointe Coupee, Morganza.

Mark H. Bonner Scholarship ($300) – Jessica Lowe, Caddo, Shreveport.

Terril D. Faul Scholarship ($300) – Chris Burch, Claiborne, Homer.

Lee Berwick Memorial Scholarship ($300) – Carrie Hebert, Jefferson Davis, Iowa.

Joseph and Malvina Lamendola Scholarship ($200) – Eric Smith, Calcasieu, Sulphur.

H.C. Sanders Scholarship ($150) – ReZalia Allen, Caddo, Shreveport.

Daniel Fontenot Jr. Scholarship ($150) – Victoria Bimah, Lafourche, Thibodaux.

In addition, Louisiana 4-H Foundation Parish Scholarships of $100 each went to Emily Landry, Acadia (Rayne); Carrie Faulk, Allen (Pitkin); Darrin Ortego, Acension (Gonzales); Frankie Westerfield, Assumption (Donaldsonville); Nikki Mertins, Avoyelles (Marksville); Ashley Eaves, Beauregard (DeRidder); Autumn Hay, Bienville (Ringgold); James Bruce, Bossier (Benton); Sara Menard, Caddo (Shreveport); Nicholas Sonnier, Calcasieu (Lake Charles); Abby Hart, Caldwell (Columbia); Kayla Backlund, Cameron (Hackberry); Rachel Jolly, Catahoula (Harrisonburg); Rebecca Aycock, Claiborne (Homer); Chelsea Crum, Concordia (Monterey); Lindsey Tassin, East Baton Rouge (Brusly); Lane Fontenot, East Feliciana (Ethel); Daniel Manuel, Evangeline (Ville Platte); Katie Kincaid, Franklin (Fort Necessity); Dustin Potts, Grant (Montgomery); Stuart Hulin, Iberia (St. Martinville); Kevin Gobel, Jeff Davis (Elton); Shelby Butera, Jefferson (Metarie); Renada Living, Lafayette (Lafayette); Jordan Head, Lafourche (Thibodaux); Cesley Weatherly, LaSalle (Olla); Austin Barber, Livingston (Albany); Ashley Halterman, Jr. Madison (Tallulah); Kimberly Robinson, Morehouse (Collinston); Zechariah Hennigan, Natchitoches (Robeline); Lauren Ogles, Ouachita (West Monroe); Breiyon Smith, Plaquemines (Belle Chasse); Andre' St. Romain, Pointe Coupee (Jarreau); Emily Tassin, Rapides (Echo); Miranda Weed, Richland (Mangham); Alison Roberts, Sabine (Many); Mary Beth Tamor, St. Bernard (St. Bernard); Paige Chauvin, St. James (Gramercy); Amiee Boudreaux, St. John (Laplace); Jasmine Derousselle, St. Martin (Breaux Bridge); Andrew Chauvin, St. Mary (Franklin); Erica Morse, Tangipahoa (Loranger); Raven Birdon, Tensas (St. Joseph); William Dunckelman, Terrebonne (Houma); Amber Dean, Union (Farmerville); Leah Patout, Vermilion (Abbeville); Amanda Basco, Vernon (Leesville); Brandie Kerbow, Washington (Mount Hermon); Callie Almond , Webster (Minden); Ross Graft, West Baton Rouge (Port Allen); Jon Gorman, West Carroll (Pioneer); Mary Barber, West Feliciana (St. Francisville); and Jonathan McDow, Winn (Winnfield).

Among the other state 4-H scholarships and awards were 10 $300 LSU Baton Rouge Scholarships that went to ReAzalia Allen of Caddo Parish (Shreveport); Victoria Bimah, Lafourche (Thibodaux); Ann Elizabeth Brown, Rapides (Colfax); Andrew Chauvin, St. Mary (Franklin); Eve Franchebois, Lafayette (Lafayette); Gabrielle Guidry, St. Martin (Breaux Bridge); Emily Landry, Acadia (Crowley); Jessica Lowe, Caddo (Shreveport); Scott Menard, Caddo (Shreveport); and Katherine Robillard, Pointe Coupee (Morganza).

Finishing the scholarships were the $500 American Legion Scholarship, which went to Jaida Griffin of Kaplan in Vermilion Parish; the $300 S.E. Wood Scholarship to Allison M. Gravois of Vacherie in St. James Parish and the $250 Charles Fuselier Scholarshp to Gabrielle Guidry of Breaux Bridge in St. Martin Parish.


Contact: Eric Eskew at (225) 578-1172 or 
Writer: Tom Merrill at (225) 578-2263 or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture