Food Science Department Names Advisory Board

John Finley, Benedict, Linda F.  |  10/16/2007 1:30:18 AM

News Release Distributed 10/15/07

The LSU AgCenter’s Department of Food Science has named an advisory board that includes state, national and international leaders in the food industry, according to John Finley, department head.

The board, which will meet twice a year, will help the department with its research and development program as well as provide guidance in the teaching program to prepare students to meet industry needs. Goals for the department include more focus on foods for health and wellness; food safety, especially seafood; and food processing, especially packaging, Finley said.

Board members include: Todd Abraham, senior vice president, Global Research, Glenview, Ill.; Colin Barrow, Ocean Nutrition, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada; Toni Betschart, associate administrator for research, U.S. Department of Agriculture/Agricultural Research Service, Washington, D.C.; Hamed Faridi, vice president of research and development, McCormick & Co. Inc., Hunt Valley, Md.; John Folse, chef and author, Donaldsonville, La.; Jeff Kleinpeter, Kleinpeter Farms Dairy, Baton Rouge, La.; Zdenek Kratky, vice president, Nestle USA Inc., New Milford, Conn.; Gilbert Leveille, executive director for nutrition and strategy, Wrigley Science Institute, Denville, N.J.; Dave Lineback, Joint Institute for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, Southport, N.C.; Harold Osborn, vice president for agriculture research and development, McIlhenny Company, Avery Island, La.; Harlon Pearce, Harlon's LA Fish, Kenner, La.; Kelsey Short, Louisiana Department of Economic Development, Baton Rouge, La.; Bobby Yarborough, Manda Fine Meats, Baton Rouge, La.; Ron Zappe, Zapp’s Potato Chips, Gramercy, La.


Contact: John Finley at (225) 578-5085, or 
Writer: Linda Foster Benedict at (225)578-2937, or

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture