Louisiana 4-Hers Honored With Scholarships

Terril D. Faul, Merrill, Thomas A.  |  6/21/2006 1:03:55 AM

Louisiana 4-H Historian/Reporter Dawn Jason of West Baton Rouge Parish holds a check facsimile for the $1,200 Bruce Flint scholarship. The Flint scholarship, which was formally presented during the 4-H University awards banquet, is the highest award given to a Louisiana 4-H’er.

News Release Distributed 06/20/06

Winners of 4-H scholarships were among those honored during an awards banquet Tuesday (June 20) at 4-H University in Baton Rouge.

The 4-H Club members from across Louisiana, who excelled in project work and recordkeeping, served as club officers or otherwise distinguished themselves during their years in 4-H, also will be recognized during the 4-H University assembly Wednesday evening.

4-H University, formerly known as 4-H Short Course during its 92-year history, is an LSU AgCenter event that brings young people from across Louisiana to Baton Rouge for educational events, contests and other activities. The presentations Tuesday were just part of the three-day event, which is designed to provide participants with opportunities for showing off their knowledge in 4-H project areas ranging from computer science to nutrition, as well as supplying a vast range of other educational opportunities and chances for fun.

"We are pleased to honor these young people who have worked hard and deserve this recognition," said Terril Faul, head of the 4-H youth development program for the LSU AgCenter. "We’re also happy we can help them continue their education."

Faul and LSU AgCenter Vice Chancellor Paul Coreil said the scholarship winners represent some of the best of the best in the Louisiana 4-H program.

"We know there are many more 4-H’ers out there who have worked hard and are worthy of the same sort of recognition," Coreil said. "We extend our congratulations and best wishes to all of them."

In all, 74 scholarships were presented to 4-H’ers during the June 20-23 events. Some of the largest awards went to 19 4-H Club members, who received scholarships ranging from $200 to $1,200 through the Louisiana 4-H Foundation. Another 41 young people received $100 scholarships from the 4-H Foundation, and 10 4-H’ers were awarded $100 scholarships to study on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge. Four others were recognized with American Legion, Syndney E. Wood and Bot Burch scholarships.

Winners of the major scholarships, their hometowns, the parishes where they participate in 4-H and the scholarships they received were:

–Dawn Elizabeth Jason from Port Allen in West Baton Rouge Parish received the Bruce Flint Scholarship, $1,200.

–Timothy Thibodeaux, Sulphur, Calcasieu Parish, Gloria Perkins Scholarship, $1,100.

–Victoria LeBlanc, Abbeville, Vermilion Parish, C.J. Naquin Scholarship, $1,000.

–Luke Joseph Coussan Jr., Lafayette, Lafayette Parish, Carl and Beaulah Baldridge Scholarship, $1,000.

–Lauren Diane Smith, Sulphur, Calcasieu Parish, Larry de la Bretonne Jr. Scholarship, $800.

–Melissa LaCour, Abbeville, Vermilion Parish, Cliff Williams Scholarship, $800.

–Leslie B. Graft, Port Allen, West Baton Rouge Parish, Lod Cook Scholarship, $700.

–Cassie Erin Emerson, Benton, Bossier Parish, Ruth Johnson Scholarship, $700.

–Brandi Nicole Hebert, Kaplan, Vermilion Parish, Gerry Lane Enterprises Scholarship, $600.

–Mindy Rochelle Posey, Franklinton, Washington Parish, Jason McClaran Scholarship, $500.

–Lauren Ashli Tanner, St. Francisville, West Feliciana Parish, Dr. and Mrs. Edward W. Gassie Scholarship, $500.

–Mary Katherine Schilling, Kentwood, Washington Parish, Louisiana Milk Producers Association Scholarship, $500.

–Ashleigh Marie Langlois, New Roads, Pointe Coupee Parish, Mark Bonner Scholarship, $400.

–Andrew Joseph Coombs, Boyce, Rapides Parish, McCrory Family Scholarship, $400.

–Jonathan Welch Curtis, Denham Springs, Livingston Parish, A.P. and Beryl Parham Memorial Scholarship, $375.

–Savanne Marie Pace, Boyce, Rapides Parish, Lee Berwick Memorial Scholarship, $375.

–Jordan Paul Puissegur, Crowley, Acadia Parish, Joseph and Malvina Lamendola Scholarship, $325.

–Mallory Jane Miller, Crowley, Acadia Parish, H.C. Sanders Scholarship, $300.

–Valorie Guinn, Jennings, Jefferson Davis Parish, Daniel Fontenot Jr. Scholarship, $200.

–Emma Margaret Granger, Abbeville, Vermilion Parish, American Legion Scholarship, $500.

–Amber Shepard, Vacherie, St. James Parish, S.E. Wood Scholarship, $300.

–Skyler Seal, Angie, Washington Parish, Bot Burch Scholarship, $250.

–Carla Williams, Franklinton, Washington Parish, Bot Burch Scholarship, $250.

Those who received the LSU Baton Rouge Scholarships were Megan Michelle Smith, Acadia Parish; Brittany Marie Bourg, Ascension; Kristina Therese Mouch, East Baton Rouge; Katelyn Marie Doumit, Iberia; Tate Benton-Michael Guillotte, Iberia; Chantelle George, Lafayette; Carly Morgan Gillett, Richland; Wesley Larry Dupriest, St. Bernard; Ashlee Aimee Marceaux, Vermilion; and Robert Truett Jones, Washington.

The 41 4-H’ers who received $100 Louisiana 4-H Foundation Scholarships were Megan Michelle Smith, Acadia Parish; Shanna F. Falke, Allen; Brittany Marie Bourg, Ascension; Cain Oscar Bergeron, Avoyelles; Sarah Grace Broxson, Beauregard; Cassie Erin Emerson, Bossier; Brandon Andrews, Caddo; Collenn Locklin, Calcasieu; Jessica Danielle Williams, Claiborne; Meredith Anne Vines, Concordia; William David Hesser, DeSoto; Beau Garrett Parrish, East Baton Rouge; Regina Claire St. Amand, Evangeline; Kaitlin A. McBroom, Grant; Tate Benton-Michael Guillotte, Iberia; Monica Celine Tircuit, Iberville; Brandi Lynn Myers, Jefferson Davis; Ashley Hope Berry, Jefferson; Taylor Bourgeois, Lafayette; Katie Marie Thames, Livingston; Alicia Diana Halterman, Madison; Megan Elise White, Natchitoches; Ashleigh M. Langlois, Pointe Coupee; Savanna Marie Pace, Rapides; Jody Lee Waller, Richland; Kelli Danielle Sepulvado, Sabine; Wesley Larry Dupriest, St. Bernard; Charles Francois Wilson, St. Charles; Jonathan E. Smith, St. James; Amanda Marie Boudreaux, St. John; Joey Latiolais, St. Martin; Sarah Theresa Oncale, Terrebonne; Angelisa R. Watson, Union; Melissa LaCour, Vermilion; Matthew Steven Morrison, Vernon; Lonnie C. Magee Jr., Washington; K’lanie Rae Almond, Webster; Ellen Rene Gauthreaux, West Baton Rouge, Megan Ruffin, West Carroll; Lauren Ashli Tanner, West Feliciana; and Willie James Armstrong, Winn.


Contact: Terril Faul at (225) 578-2196 or tfaul@agcenter.lsu.edu
Writer: Tom Merrill at (225) 578-2263 or tmerrill@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture