Additional Shrimper Training Sessions Scheduled

Kurt Guidry  |  5/10/2005 2:05:14 AM

News Release Distributed 05/09/05

The LSU AgCenter and the Louisiana Sea Grant program recently completed a series of 10 training workshops across the state for shrimp producers who qualified for cash payments under the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program.

Now it's offering more chances to shrimp producers who may not have been able to attend one of those session.

Nearly 700 Louisiana shrimp producers participated in the training and were certified, according to Dr. Kurt Guidry of the LSU AgCenter’s Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness.

The workshops were required for producers to become fully qualified for the financial assistance provided by the TAA program.

"Due to varying circumstances, some producers who have applied and have been approved through the Farm Service Agency (FSA) may have not attended one of the 10 workshops and are still in need of the training," Guidry said.

"In order to assure qualified producers receive an opportunity to receive the mandated training, the LSU AgCenter and Sea Grant will continue to offer training through one of six area agents," he added.

Guidry stressed that only producers who applied with FSA by the deadline of April 11, 2005, and were subsequently approved are eligible for the training. If eligible producers still need to attend training, they should contact one of the following agents to set it up:

Kevin Savoie at (337) 475-8812, (337) 491-2065 or ksavoie@agcenter.lsu.edu in Calcasieu Parish

Mark Shirley at (337) 898-4335 or mshirley@agcenter.lsu.edu in Vermilion Parish

Glenn Thomas at (337) 828-4100 or gthomas@agcenter.lsu.edu in St. Mary Parish

David Bourgeois at (985) 632-6852 or dbourgeois@agcenter.lsu.edu in Lafourche Parish

Mark Schexnayder at (504) 838-1170 mschexnayder@agcenter.lsu.edu in Jefferson Parish

Rusty Gaude at (504) 278-4234 or agaude@agcenter.lsu.edu in St. Bernard Parish

Guidry said the additional training will be available only for producers who applied and were approved by FSA. Producers who did not apply or were not approved will have opportunities to take training next year if and when the TAA program is re-certified, he said.

"Not having the training this year will not affect the producers’ ability to apply for the TAA program next year should it once again become available," Guidry said.

###

Contact: Kurt Guidry at (225) 578-4567 or kmguidry@agcenter.lsu.edu
Writer: Rick Bogren at (225) 578-5839 or rbogren@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture

Top