Master Wildlifer Programs To Be Offered Across State

Donald Reed, Merrill, Thomas A.  |  4/30/2005 2:32:48 AM

News Release Distributed 03/10/05

The LSU AgCenter will offer a unique wildlife educational program at selected sites across the state beginning in late March.

The program, "Master Wildlifer; Wildlife Conservation on Private Lands," is designed for landowners, land managers and outdoor recreation enthusiasts who are interested in including wildlife considerations in their current land management activities.

"Practicing land managers will find the course valuable in highlighting alternative management approaches for wildlife in forest and farm settings," LSU AgCenter associate professor Dr. Don Reed said. "Special emphasis is placed on wildlife species that currently offer landowners additional sources of income through recreational access fees."

Reed said course participants will obtain the knowledge and necessary tools to enhance habitat for a variety of wildlife species that can be enjoyed by themselves, family, friends and anyone interested in wildlife.

Topics for the seven course sessions are introduction to wildlife management, ecology and management of small game, ecology and management of white-tailed deer, ecology and management of eastern wild turkey, fish pond management, managing wetlands for waterfowl and other wildlife and income opportunities from wildlife on private lands.

Reference materials will be made available to all participants, according to Reed.

Dates for the first sessions are listed with each area location below. For more information on the exact locations and all session dates, contact the site coordinator listed below for your area.

The sessions will be offered in:

–Central Louisiana (Alexandria), beginning April 12. Contact Barry Crain at (318) 767-3968 or bcrain@agcenter.lsu.edu.

–Northeast Louisiana (Calhoun), beginning April 5. Contact Steve Hotard at (318) 644-5980 or shotard@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Northwest Louisiana (Shreveport), beginning April 4. Contact Ricky Kilpatrick at (318) 965-2326 or rkilpatrick@agcenter.lsu.edu

–The Capital Area (Baton Rouge), beginning April 7. Contact Dr. Mike Dunn at (225) 578-0344 or mdunn@agcenter.lsu.edu or Dr. Don Reed at (225) 683-5848 or dreed@agcenter.lsu.edu.

–Southwest Louisiana (Lake Charles), beginning March 28. Contact Jerry Whatley at (337) 475-8812 or jwhatley@agcenter.lsu.edu.

–South Central Louisiana (Houma), beginning March 29. Contact Barton Joffrion at (985) 873-6495.

Contact: Don Reed at (225) 683-5848 or dreed@agcenter.lsu.edu
Writer: Tom Merrill at (225) 578-2263 or tmerrill@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture

Top