LSU AgCenter Schedules Statewide Workshops On Tax Issues For Forest Owners

4/26/2005 8:28:23 PM

News Release Distributed 10/19/04

If you are own forestland, the LSU AgCenter has a workshop concerning tax issues you won’t want to miss.

The workshop titled "Tax Issues for Forest Owners" will be held at five locations across the state during November and December.

Dr. Mike Dunn of the LSU AgCenter’s Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness said the workshop will focus on major tax laws that apply to forest landownership.

"This workshop is structured to help forest landowners understand the unique tax rules that can affect their management decisions, as well as the profitability of their forests," said Dunn said.

The workshop is hosted by the LSU AgCenter and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Forest Service.

Featured speakers will be USDA Forest Service tax experts John Greene from New Orleans and Larry Bishop from Atlanta, Ga. Greene and Bishop will speak on a variety of tax topics including the establishment of capital accounts, basis and record keeping, cost-share and conservative payments and timber income sales and contracts.

The workshop will be held Nov. 3 in Ruston, Nov. 4 in Bossier City, Nov. 30 in Hammond, Dec. 1 in Alexandria and Dec. 2 in Lake Charles.

Seating is limited, and pre-registration is requested. Registration and information may be obtained by contacting LSU AgCenter area foresters.

For information on the Ruston workshop, contact Steve Hotard at (318) 644-2662 or shotard@agcenter.lsu.edu.  For the Bossier City workshop, contact Ricky Kilpatrick at (318) 965-2326 or rkilpatrick@agcenter.lsu.edu.  For the Hammond workshop, contact Brian Chandler at (225) 683-3101 or bchandler@agcenter.lsu.edu.  For the Alexandria workshop, contact Barry Crain at (318) 473-6605 or bcrain@agcenter.lsu.edu.  Or for the Lake Charles workshop, contact Tom Strawn at (337) 639-4376 or tstrawn@agcenter.lsu.edu.

The forest industry is a major factor in the state’s economy and is the largest one based on renewable natural resources. According to the Louisiana Summary of Agriculture and Natural Resources from the LSU AgCenter, the total value of forestry in Louisiana last year was more than $3.7 billion.

###

Contact: Mike Dunn at 578-0344 or mdunn@agcenter.lsu.edu
Writer: A. Denise Coolman at (318) 644-5865 or dcoolman@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture

Top