Master Tree Farmer Classes Scheduled

11/9/2006 1:51:55 AM

News Release Distributed 12/04/2003

Louisiana foresters will have the chance to participate in a series of classes along with others from across the South beginning Feb. 3.

LSU AgCenter faculty members say forest landowners and natural resource managers are invited to participate in the satellite-broadcast short course to enhance their knowledge in managing forest resources.

"Classes will be taught by some of the best instructors in the South," said LSU AgCenter forest economist and Louisiana program coordinator Dr. Mike Dunn. "And with satellite technology, participants can participate in a class near their home."

The 2004 Master Tree Farmer Short Course will be broadcast live from Clemson University on Tuesday evenings at 6 p.m. beginning on Feb. 3 and ending March 16 for sites that carry the broadcast live. Two sites in Louisiana, one in Shreveport and another in Baton Rouge, will carry the broadcast on a tape-delayed basis, and the three-hour classes will be broadcast to a number of other sites in Louisiana.

Host sites in the state include Louisiana Technical College locations in Alexandria, Many, Oakdale, Winnfield and Jackson. The broadcast also will be offered at Efferson Hall on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge and at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches.

Dunn said plans are to add another site in the north-central Louisiana area, either at Louisiana Tech in Ruston or at the University of Louisiana-Monroe Nursing School.

The sessions also will be taped and used for other educational programs during the year, he said.

"Interested participants are urged to sign up early," said Dunn, continuing, "Classroom space is limited at some sites, and they will fill up fast."

Course organizers at Clemson said topics for the seven-session course include managing a forest site; forest economics, taxes and estate planning; managing pine species; managing hardwood stands; timely harvesting and marketing of forest species; managing lands for multiple uses; and forest incentive programs and issues.

Registration and site-specific information about the course can be obtained by contacting one of the following site coordinators:

–Shreveport: Ricky Kilpatrick at (318) 963-2326 or rkilpatrick@agcenter.lsu.edu

–West Monroe: Steve Hotard at (318) 644-5865 or shotard@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Many: Paul Morris at (318) 256-3406 or pmorris@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Winnfield: Donnie Moon at (318) 628-4528 or dmoon@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Natchitoches and Alexandria: Barry Crain at (318) 473-6605 or bcrain@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Oakdale: Tom Strawn at (337) 639-4376 or tstrawn@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Jackson: Brian Chandler at (225) 683-3101 or bchandler@agcenter.lsu.edu

–Baton Rouge: John Roy at (225) 389-3056 or jroy@agcenter.lsu.edu

This educational forestry program will be simultaneously broadcast and taught in 14 states.

General information about the course can be obtained from the Web site at www.mastertreefarmer.net or by contacting Mike Dunn at (225) 578-0344 or mdunn@agcenter.lsu.edu.

###

Contact: Mike Dunn at (225) 578-0344 or mdunn@agcenter.lsu.edu
Writer: John Chaney at (318) 473-6605 or jchaney@agcenter.lsu.edu

Rate This Article:

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?

Innovate . Educate . Improve Lives

The LSU AgCenter and the LSU College of Agriculture

Top