text version
About the Museum
 more...>About 4-H>Louisiana 4-H Museum>About the Museum>

Frequently Asked Questions

When is the museum open?

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Please arrive no later than 3:00 p.m. to fully enjoy all the exhibits.  

Group tours during or after regular museum hours
Please contact the Louisiana 4-H Museum to make arrangements.
Phone: 318-964-2245
Email the museum.

Is there an admission charge?

Admission is $3 per person. 
Children under age 3 are admitted free.
There is a 10% discount for groups of 25 or more.


How do I schedule a group tour of the museum?

Please contact the Louisiana 4-H Museum to make arrangements for groups.
Phone: 318-964-2245. 
Email the museum.


How big is the museum?

The museum is 24 feet by 46 feet or 1,104 square feet. A cathedral ceiling and polished pecan flooring create an airy spacious setting for unique exhibit areas.


What is in the museum?

The museum is filled with dynamic, multimedia exhibits that feature the history and development of Louisiana 4-H. See a virtual tour of the museum here.

  • Timeline of Louisiana 4-H – A giant mural and display highlight pivotal events in the history of Louisiana 4-H.
  • Louisiana 4-H Hall of Fame – Honoring the people whose dedication made 4-H what it is today.
  • 4-H Emblem Collage – A multitude of items from around the state.
  • Louisiana 4-H on Parade – 3-D diorama of projects and programs.
  • Louisiana 4-H Parish by Parish – Unique achievements by 4-H'ers around the state.
  • Frankie the 4-H Fox at Camp – Animatronic fox puppet explains what 4-H does for youth.
  • And much more!


Why was the museum built in Mansura, a rural area?

Mansura is in Avoyelles Parish, and Louisiana 4-H has its roots in Avoyelles. In 1908 at Moreauville High School, 300 boys gathered to learn new and better ways to plant corn (with a horse and plow!). This Corn Club for boys was the first of its kind in Louisiana. The club was organized with support from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Louisiana Agricultural Experiment Station, the Louisiana Department of Agriculture, the Louisiana State Department of Education, the Avoyelles Parish School Board and Moreauville High School. By the end of 1908, there were 15 Corn Clubs for boys throughout Louisiana. Within a few years, more agricultural project clubs for boys had formed, and clubs for girls were also under way. Such boys and girls clubs were being organized nationwide. Eventually, all these boys and girls clubs were collectively called "4-H Clubs."

The idea for building the museum in Mansura evolved in 2004 when the Avoyelles Parish Police Jury acquired land in Mansura for a new facility for extension and tou

rism offices.


How do people donate or loan items to the museum?

History comes alive with photos, documents, memorabilia, clothing and artifacts! We know there are lots of treasures out there in closets and attics, and we’re eager to see them. For more information on submitting items for donation or loan, please click here.

News clippings about 4-H events can be faxed or mailed to:

Rose Anne St. Romain
Louisiana 4-H Museum
8592 Highway 1, Suite 2
Mansura, LA 71350
Fax: (318) 964 – 2259
Phone: (318) 964 – 2245

Last Updated: 2/2/2012 3:07:47 PM

Have a question or comment about the information on this page?
Click here to contact us.